My experience living in Hawaii

in #life6 years ago

0902171900b_HDR(1).jpgI just going to start this off by saying, I am not trying to convince anyone to move here, this is just what I've gathered from my time on island.

CONS

~Costs

Its EXPENSIVE to live here! Even to rent a simple townhouse its almost 3,000 dollars a month. I know for some that may not seem like much, but if you add the cost of food, transportation, bills , and whatever other fun things you might want to partake in, it can add up quickly.
I have a friend that goes to HPU (Hawaii Pacific University) and she says tuition, boarding, and her room, costs her 40,000. If you still want to move here, then I pity your wallet.

~Shipping

Holy. Cow. I have same day shipping and yet it takes almost a week for some of my stuff to get to me. Its also very expensive to ship certain things to the mainland, I once tried to ship my baby cousin baby clothes and by the time they arrived, she had almost outgrown them.

~Driving

I like to say everyone is on 'Aloha time' because of how slow somethings go. Now I'm not saying its the locals that cause traffic because its mainly tourists. Their so lost in the scenery they don't watch the road. I get it, its really pretty. But if you want to look around, stop at a lookout spot, and if you cant find one got to a parking lot and venture out on foot.
Another big cause of traffic is Honolulu. The amount of flow in and out of there helps clog the rest of the islands freeways. If you can, avoid being apart of both problem 1 and 2.

~Finding items

If its not there now, you are gonna have to wait a while.

~Random rainstorms

Its REALLY annoying.

PROS

~The locals

Now, if you've seen YouTube videos on the topic of moving to Hawaii, then you'll see that most people complain about the locals. Hawaiians aren't very big fans of tourism. Its not beneficial to most of their businesses. But if you get to know them, they are some of the nicest people you will meet. Heck, even the bus drivers are really nice. I've been given a whole meal by one of my neighbors. All in all, If your not a total jerk, their pretty chill.

~Wildlife

This is one of the main reasons tourists visit and in my opinion, it doesn't disappoint. I visit a beach called turtle beach quite often and the name a pretty straightforward. Its a turtle lovers heaven. The birds are loud sometimes but that happens almost everywhere. But don't get me started on how many fish there are, you could swim in the same spot and still see so many.

~Food

It is amazing. There is Sushi, Shave ice (Spelled exactly like this), Korean BBQ, Red velvet pancakes, and malasadas (Kinda like a doughnut hole except its bigger and you can add a filling.) That and the drinks make a whole different experience.

Just take what you want from my little rant. I honestly just want you to do you. If you have had a different kind of experience, then go ahead and comment. I hope this can be a tiny bit beneficial to some of you.

Auf Weidersehen
Random weirdo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44