Morning coffee, broken lenovo - awkward ubuntu!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

business-1209705__340.jpg


So my Lenovo laptop has given up on me, it started off with needing a new keyboard, 3 times, so I bought a new laptop a few weeks back, that is what I am on now. The Lenovo started shutting itself down yesterday, sometimes after only 20 seconds, so I am now using the HP that I luckily bought a few weeks back, and it has a French keyboard, so I can not find the hash key, It is labeled, though does not function, and as I no longer live in the UK I did expect the new laptop keyboard to be a different language, just not French!

Markdown is going to be out of the window for me until I find where this hashtag is supposed to be on Ubuntu. The reason I resisted using the new pc is due to the fact that the wi-fi signal is pathetic even when my pc is sat next to the router. No amount of fiddling with Ubuntu seems to change it, so it seems I have a wi-fi card that has not been cracked by the team as yet. So I am off to get some extra cable to hard wire it today.

I also have some cryptos on my old laptop, namely litedoge coin and iota, the iota I bought ages ago, and managed to seed the wallet last night, before my pc crashed again, when I got in the wallet it was empty, gasp shock, so I looked at history in the wallet, and it seems I had never added the transaction to a "tangle" from when these were sent to me. So I did the tangle, and 1 million little beauties now sit in that wallet.

Now I have zero idea how to get these coins off a failing laptop, as it only booted for 3 minutes today then crashed, so I am thinking to remove the hdd and hard wire it via a usb, to extract these coins the best I can, I have never done this before, so only guessing.

Bear with me whilst I try to adapt to my new environment of French keyboard and drilling holes in walls for a hard wire, needs must.

Ha HA I just found the hashtatg. it sits next to enter, I hit it by mistake and voila.

Have a superb day and catch you later once I have drilled my way to freedom. (told you I found it.)


Image CC0 pixabay.

Sort:  

You're using Ubuntu now! Wonderful :) Pretty hilarious you got a French keyboard.

I'm off by 3 days since you wrote this so I haven't gotten to the newer posts. I'm hoping you got those coins off the HDD by now.

@practicalthought if you use the new Ubuntu 18.04 it's similar to Windows 10. Not that difficult to switch. It's actually faster than Windows since you don't have all that goop running in the background.

You're using Ubuntu now! Wonderful :) Pretty hilarious you got a French keyboard.

Getting used to it now. :-)

I'm off by 3 days since you wrote this so I haven't gotten to the newer posts. I'm hoping you got those coins off the HDD by now.

Just bought a sata usb lead off the net, should be here in 2 or 3 days. :-)

And fully agreed with it is much faster, have a superb week my friend.

one day you will come back to the fold!

bill gates is waiting

but see this:

https://www.minds.com/KevinSarpei/blog/how-to-avoid-funding-the-american-deep-state-857779708451414016

Gates can go shag his dead mom, superb article though, I shall change systems tomorrow me thinks.

Yo bro.

minnowbooster transfer 0.001 SBD to shepz1 Congrats! You have been accepted to the @minnowbooster Community driven Whitelist. You now have access to some nice perks, such as bigger upvote limits and the potential to earn bonus payments! Want to contribute? Click here: https://www.minnowbooster.net/whitelist

Ta - I'll check this out - I know nothing - busy researching bill hicks at the moment...

I'm going to do a post about this soon - starting it here
http://www.frot.co.nz/design/conspiracies/alex-jones-is-bill-hicks/

Yes I have heard that rumor for a very long time, it is Bill cooper that intrigues me more, you know the guy the police shot in the back on his own drive, the very same guy that called out the schill above for what he is, a conman. (Milton William Cooper)

I did the same with an old laptop that died. Removed the hard drive and bought a cable to connect it to a USB port on my new laptop to save what i wanted to the new one. It worked for me hope you can do the same. Hope you and family have a great weekend mate.

Awesome that it worked out for you, I shall await my usb lead off the net and try to do the same next week.

You too, have a superb weekend.

Will do :)

I keep toying with the idea of learning Ubuntu and distancing myself from Microsoft. Did you teach yourself or use tutorials from somewhere like YouTube?

Glad you were able to get your wallet sorted out.

Self taught many moons ago, it is now easier than ever to use ubuntu as you can get away with using it with zero knowledge of code, if you want to try it, you can download it and burn it onto a dvd in ISO format, and simply run it from the disc, and use it without any changes to your pc.
My problems begin now trying to get them coins off that hdd, as the pc does not even boot up now, it shuts down before it opens. :-(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83