Witnessing A Double 80th Birthday Celebration

in #life7 years ago (edited)

It was a spur of the moment gig. My former events organizing team invited me to help them coordinate a birthday celebration.

I was called by my mentor, a veteran events organizer in my city to assist in an 80th Birthday celebration. It was a fun night because I learned a lot... I mean... literally in terms of life lessons.


On my way to the hotel

When I got to the venue, I saw that it was already decorated. I was really surprised that it wasn't just one person but two ladies who will celebrate their 80th birthday. I assumed they were twins but they are sisters-in-law. The stage was decorated with paper flowers and colored lighting.

I learned through the course of the program that that even though these two are sisters-in-law they are the best of friends and they are quite opposites of each other. The other one is very independent, thrifty and outgoing, while the other one is generous, quiet, clingy but adventurous.

There were a lot of well-wishers and messages for the birthday celebrants but the great parts are the dances with their loved ones. One of the celebrants danced with her husband who serenaded her with a song "All the Way" By Frank Sinatra and the other lady danced with her grandson because her husband passed away years ago. I thought it was the sweetest thing that night. The husband and wife were inseparable, it was told that the two still travel around the world at their age. The most romantic and meaningful segment of the program.


![](

The party was a success. People enjoyed the ambiance and the food. The eye-catching dessert station was a bestseller. The desserts were gone in no time. Each table has a fruit centerpiece that guests are able to bring home or eat during the event.

There were two layered cakes that matched the personality of the celebrants: one was a butter cake with white icing and fresh strawberries and blueberries while the other is a chocolate cake with buttercream and flower fondant decoration.

The guests were also given souvenirs in jars full of candies. It added to the decorations because of its colorful features.

One thing I will never forget about this event is the lesson learned, the journey of these two beautiful women: their struggles, the path they have chosen and the love they have given to their loved ones.

One message from a granddaughter who expressed her well-wishes and greetings struck me the most:

Life is not measure by the number of successes we have but through the love we give to others.

These women have indeed lived a fruitful life. Hope that I will be able to live mine through the years.

Follow me @shellany

Sort:  

I keep saying to myself... anything above 50 is a bonus! =) Live live live... that's my advice.

Disclaimer: What I have said does not mean you can screw up everywhere ok? It just changes your betting time window in terms of waiting for stuff.

YOLO! So make the BEST out of life. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63