Getting Older: Learning Everything I have is All I Need

in #life7 years ago


Last November 4, I celebrated my birthday with family. It was a fun day for me from the time I woke up on a beautiful Saturday morning, the sun shone in a clear blue sky. What made it fun from the start was the neighbor had their child's birthday the day before and they gave us food. They sent us spaghetti, chicken and cake for breakfast, talk about an early celebration!

@darthnava and my parents

We decided to eat out as @darthnava was craving for steak. We went to a restaurant called Ribs and Bibs where their specialty are different kinds of steak and is a popular restaurant in the city.

Now at 37, I have learned a lot of things and reflected more about myself.

I became more independent.

As a single mother made me more independent as I always have been. I realized that I can achieve things more by myself and that I am effective when I pursue projects brought about by my own ideas. Just like having my own business. My father has been skeptical about the business and was afraid I would fail but I went with it anyways and now he helps me with logistics and make sure that I get what I need without me asking for help. I used to think that I needed someone to help carry and assist me in everything I do but self-reliance is a wonderful thing. I get to appreciate my capabilities more.

I learned to say NO and it's a good thing without feeling guilty.

I was always a people-pleaser. I would do favors without complaints even though some took a lot of my time and the worst my personal time. Sometimes I get favors that gave me a lot of stress even if it's not my problem just to extend a hand or to tolerate somebody. I realized that getting older makes you wiser and I get to know which are my priorities. Answering NO if you think is right is not bad and I am very proud of myself that I get to be able to stand by my decisions and do what makes me happy.

I learned about the things I want in life and what I want to accomplish.

I'm not going to be a hypocrite about earning more, but this time I want to be able to start reaching for my dreams by taking it one day at a time. I realized I was a workaholic always under pressure but I wasn't taking care of my physical and mental health. I am now aware that it is important that I should consider quality first over quantity. So I am trying to chill and relax, try to expand my horizons even further. And on the relationship side, If I want to settle down, I would want it to be the right person for me, one that I would really want to spend the rest of my life with.


While they order steaks I ordered my favorite of all time, a seafood pasta.

I learned to love myself more.

This has been the best gift I would say I received during the time of my birthday. I learned to appreciate my strengths and weaknesses and I can easily identify them. I have accepted my flaws and flaunted my strengths, the things I couldn't do and the things I can do. I'm not gonna pretend that I like sports or I am a sporty person, which I am not, but take me dancing and I will readily accept any dance challenge. If you let me sing a Celine Dion song, then I would tell you that Celine is way out of my voice range. If you ask me how I am doing with my diet, I will always tell you that I'm doing a yo-yo. So I'm not perfect and isn't a big deal at all.

I am me, there's no way I'm gonna change especially my past even the most grueling experiences.

Aging is good, looking back I can see that I have changed a lot. I went through a lot as well along with the struggles of being pregnant alone with little moral support, keeping strong after break-ups and career disappointments. Although I know my skin isn't that supple like in my 20's I like the way I look at my face in the mirror now. (I still have to work on that figure though, lol) But overall getting older every year isn't such a big deal. As they all say, AGE IS JUST A NUMBER.

Looking at the happy faces, celebrating I have everything I need, my family, my precious son and myself.

I used to think if I have this or that on my birthday then everything is complete. But then happiness is always a choice. If I choose to be single now, it's because I want to. I could not be more happier at this time, it is just perfect timing I believe. If someone comes along, well and good but for now...



My family and the smiles on their faces are the best gifts anyone could ever receive.

I think I have everything I need and I am thankful for that.


A more wiser and happier ME! :)

P.S.

This post could not be possible without the help of STEEMIT. All expense paid courtesy of my STEEMIT Wallet. lol.

Follow me @shellany

Sort:  

Belated happy birthday dear @shellany! You've got a nice family.

AGE IS JUST A NUMBER

Trulalu. Bet na bet. Hehe. What's important is we are aging with grace and more wisdom! 😉

Great birthday sponsor too! Way to go steemit!!!

Hahaha thanks sistah!!! Let's age with style! :)

i like your article, it gives me positive energy because of your insistence and your perseverance.so keep going and i wish you good luck.

Thank you! I am glad that it gave you positive energy. Have a good day and steem on! :)

That was a great article. Happy belated birthday! I'm giving you a huge mental birthday party in my mind. Thank you for sharing,
X

Thank you! I think I had an awesome party with the one you gave me! Two thumbs up! :)

looks you guys are enjoying

Belated happy birthday. Hindi naman mukhng 37 eh. :D
Sarap ng foods. :)

Musta na. Hehhe tagal mo ng hindi nagsusulat ah. :)

Hi sis, hehehe tinatamad eh hahaha. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56769.00
ETH 2325.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36