Daily Steemit Purpose - Finding Actual "Animal House"

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0779.JPG
One of the things that I think Steemit has done for me is to make me more cognizant of my life and my surroundings. I live in a place where there's a lot. A lot of everything. And a lot I take for granted. As I meet, follow, read and see international Steemian experiences (I'm talking to you Venezuela, Indonesia, KR, Aceh, and others) I now judge my own personal existence more broadly. And with the goal of deepening it.

Steemit makes me look for more things to experience, understand and share on a daily basis. If you're reading this, know that, that in itself is an inspiration to lead a deeper life.

LOL. That being said this story may or may not be about deeper things, it depends upon your perspective.

Actual "Animal House"

While driving down a random street I came across this house. At first, I thought this was an "Animal House" museum or perhaps that exterior scenes from the movie had been shot here and the building was being preserved as an attraction. After standing in its essence for a few minutes I realized this was the real thing. A true blue, red-blooded American Frat House.
IMG_0780.JPG
Sigma Alpha Epsilon House Pomona, California

  • Synthetic grass to stand up to abuse and toxins
  • Battered hand painted decor and regalia
  • Beer pong table front and center with cups o ready
  • Slippery when wet sign ready for deployment
  • Recuperating guard dog

Frat houses are often depicted as mass party scenes were drunken debauchery rules. The movie "Animal House" is a comic representation of frat house life and has truly become an American Classic.

It's unclear if SAE takes their name from the very first fraternity house founded in 1846. As fraternity membership was punishable by expulsion, Alpha Epsilon of Chi Psi at the University of Michigan was located deep in the woods.

The Greek Societies strongly believe in the benefits of belonging:
Article: I Still Think Joining A Fraternity Was One Of The Best Decisions I've Ever Made
By Peter Jacobs
http://www.businessinsider.com/greek-life-benefits-2014-12

  • Greeks have higher GPAs at many schools and are more likely to graduate
  • Greeks are more fulfilled in their professional life
  • Greek life is becoming much more diverse
  • Joining a Greek organization can help fight loneliness and depression

Yet even in an article in support of the system, it qualifies it by saying, "At least one hazing death every year for the past 43 years is a very scary statistic, as is the often cited study from 2007 showing that fraternity members are three times more likely to commit rape than other college students. These trends need to be addressed."

The controversial Movie Haze does a great job of exploring some of the more dangerous rituals involved in joining a fraternity.


HAZE Official Trailer (2017) College Fraternity Drama Movie HD

I personally know very little about Sigma Alpha Epsilon Pomona and in fact, I'm intrigued by the endeavor behind the organization and the house itself. And you can tell this place has seen some things. In some ways, it just needs to be appreciated for what it is.

I'll let them speak for themselves:

Sigma Alpha Epsilon promotional videos:


2016 Rush Compilation


2017 Rush Compilation

SAE Greek Ranking:
https://www.greekrank.com/uni/200/fraternity/SAE-Sigma-Alpha-Epsilon/88/rating/
First 5 Comments:

  • "If you’re checking this to rush here are your tips 1. A-holes to everyone but their bros 2. “Extended rush” is very very uncomfortable and makes you question you’re sexuality. 3. If you want to be broken down and struggle come here 4. If you are middle eastern and / or have money they will give any GDI a bid. 5. ΦΑ, what they live by, it isn’t worth it. Trust me."
  • "Best parties on campus"
  • "It’s rush Szn boys!!! Only fraternity worth rushing."
  • "these guys won't even look your way if you aren't a zta or a chi o, went to one of their parties and a guy tried to grab my vag, pulled his hand away, he put it right back. sexual. assault. expected."

I'll leave #5 as the final statement

  • "Forsure top house. We're the sickest guys. Girls love us. We're true gentlemen. And our parties are lit."

Sort:  

Hi, I just followed and upvoted you :-)
Follow back and we can help each other succeed! @hatu

Hi, thanks for the comment. I wanted to point out you up-voted under another followers comment. Still thanks though.

Hi, thank you. I'm following.

Thank you. I appreciate your input.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67947.42
ETH 3264.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66