You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Failure Is Impermanent

in #life6 years ago

It sounds like your math teacher was a lousy teacher if he says something like that to a young student. The problem may not have been your problem. It may have been a teacher problem.

I remember growing up, I was never all that good at doing blue collar kind of work. I had a really hard time figuring out how to do it well. Then in 1999, I had to find a way to pay for my college tuition. Working in fast food over the summer wouldn’t pay the bills, so I took a job as a tree planter. Tree planting was the dirtiest, grungiest, most blue collar kind of job I ever did in my life. Training for it was hard. I was out in the middle of nowhere trying to figure out how to plant trees properly, and quickly to make money (they paid you on commission) and it was a slow go at first. It took me far longer to understand how to plant than most of the others on my crew. After 4 weeks of making lousy money, I finally had a good day and planted 800 trees in a day. After that, it was pretty well all uphill for me.

The lesson I learned that summer was I could learn how to do almost anything as long as I stick with it, and have a good teacher that would help me learn, even if I wasn’t naturally gifted at it.

Sort:  

I agree! He was a horrible teacher. Sadly I didn't see it until later.

I Love that!! I feel like blue collar jobs are hard for most of us. But like what you did, It takes practice. I love the being paid by the job, Because then it forces you to get better!

I had a couple friends who were blue collar guys. They picked up blue collar work easily and I didn’t. Hanging out with them kind of made me feel inadequate at the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.38
ETH 3379.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47