Come Here Lemme Give Ya A Life Purpose & I Learnt Something From A Game

in #life5 years ago (edited)

If you don't know what your purpose is, consider this. If humanity as a whole was a person, what would it think its purpose is?

It'd think:

"Why is everyone continuing to live?" ("everyone" because humanity means everyone)

Where is humanity headed?

It doesn't know. It's still discovering.

But what is it doing in the meantime while it's getting there?

Leaving the place in a better way.

Would be the answer we'd like to give, but we all know the story is the opposite. Still, let's consider the intention.

The intention is to leave everything better than how it was initially.

I guess if you are unsure about your purpose and came to this post to get a solution, you can also take up that as your temporary current life purpose. Then you can brag that your purpose is at the level of the whole of

HUMANITY!



Leave everything better than when you had encountered it.


This wasn't why I started writing this mainly. So here's the real plot:

Doing Multiple Things Everyday

Since I have so much of free time (I don't need to go to college, just gotta give the final exam at year end + no job/family obligations currently + living with family), today I thought of this idea that, I have the advantage that mostly no other has right now.

The freedom to try new things.

Until Now...

I was thinking of all of my free time as a burdensome responsibility, meaning - I just had to use it in the best possible manner.
However, I was confused. I didn't know what that "best possible manner" was.

Enter today.

What if I just did many things, but for a very short time period?

...popped into my mind.

You see, till now I was creating goals like "learn Japanese for 2 HOURS (!!!)"
That's stupid. It was never gonna work. No, shut up all you optimistic thinkers.
It just won't. I've been there.
"Oh if I just think it will..."

No.

no.jpg

It never worked.

Hence today's thought emphasized 'short period of time'.

And this is something I've never tried before.

What's The Plan Chief?

Everything, for a short span of time.

Learning Japanese, Khan Academy, guitar, reading, anime...et cetera.



all things.jpg


The Benefits

  1. Interesting "everyday" life.
  2. Seems fun theoretically.
  3. Different activation of brain regions (wow what a sciency benefit. much amazed. such knowledge)
    doge.jpg
  4. Steady accomplishment in all fields.

How'd I Get This Idea?

A few weeks back, I played this one game online.

It was one of those games. The kind of gamey game that games you.
The gamed game.

It was this one.

A game where, when you level up, you get points.
And then those points you assign to a specific category (like Attack, Defense, Speed etc.)

What I realized was, I couldn't get very far by only assigning points to one specific field, say, Attack.
If the enemy kills you off before you can even lift your sword, then what's the point?

I found that I could advance in the game only if I focused on all the categories uniformly.

And that's when it hit me.

The enemy's sword I mean.

But then it hit me hit me.

The Realization

That this game was a mirror image of life.

much profound such wow.

Therefore. If I gotta advance, I'll have to focus on multiple things per day. Can't just do 18 hours of Japanese, can I.



Let's see how this one goes.





Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79