You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why College? An Honest Insider's Guide for Students and Parents

in #life6 years ago

I found this and your previous post about turning higher education inside out with steemit really interesting. I've worked in education, schools and university, although my real joy has been informal community learning and ideas like street corner universities. Nowadays, I earn my living through learning at work, usually in the real world of trying to do things rather than in a classroom.

I guess you will have come across people like Howard Rheingold and the work he has done about participatory learning and the Social Media Classroom. I always liked The Institute for the Future, especially their interesting maps, like this one about moving from educational institutions to learning flows:
IMG_1709.JPG
Source: IFTF.

I notice they have a new publication Learning is Earning - I haven't looked at this yet, but it might resonate with some of your ideas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48