Choosing minimalism – Do we really need to have so much stuff?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

minimalism-2638506_1920.jpg

Have you ever noticed the amount of junk you have at home?And now I ask, can you take advantage of everything you have? If that's not the case, then why buy so much? What is the need to want to buy more and more and more?

Our culture tends to lead us to consumerism. After all, we are flooded with marketing and advertising every day that entice us to buy certain things. The problem is that we often act without thinking and we end up buying that new smartphone, or that musical instrument we always wanted to learn. But in reality, sometimes we end up choosing a cell phone much more powerful than what we need, and maybe we end up giving up learning how to play that instrument. But the big question here is that we often confuse desire with need, which turns out to be one of the most effective marketing strategies.

Putting this whole question in perspective, have you thought about the consequences of having so much? I think that possessions end up holding us in, because much of what we have requires maintenance and storage space. But where are we going to keep all these things? Do we have space and time to maintain them?

For a few years now I have adopted minimalism for my life. Everything I have has a purpose, and I always think twice before buying anything. Just for you to get an idea, one of my areas of interest is the development of Android apps and I have a smartphone with glass broken for over 1 year. This smartphone is fully functional, so I have been able to hold it for a long time, but recently, I thought about replace it. After all, the technology of this mobile phone is already relatively old, and I would like to explore other features that the latest smartphones have. But if I think about my financial situation right now, it would be silly to buy a phone right now since I'm unemployed. Plus, my smartphone is fully capable of developing a lot of the ideas I have boiling in my head right now, so if I chose to buy one now, it would just be out of desire and not out of necessity. On the other hand, it is true that I have money to buy the device I wanted, but I think it is much more interesting to invest these resources in something that would really be meaningful.

Personally, I think I have enough and that I am privileged to have everything I need to live and to practice in my profession, so everything that comes after this is a bonus. Fact is that living with the minimum possible is something liberating, it is something that allows us to have a more efficient resource management, and that helps us to have a greater margin of maneuver to respond to the adversities of life. In addition, we stop looking so much at ourselves and start thinking about how we can help others so they can have a life as good as ours. After all, we have enough.

I chose to live a minimalist life, what about you?


Image 1 | Source


Thank you for reading so far!

If you have any question or feedback, you know what to do!
Would you like to know more about me and my work? Then check my blog page!

See you soon,
Shaden

Sort:  

I totally agree, we all have far too much stuff. I moved into my (furnished) apartment four years ago with a couple of small suit cases and am happy to say that since then I have acquired only a diffuser and a sprouter.

That's awesome! I'm in the process of getting a new apartment and I must say that I probably won't need to buy anything at all!

Thank you for sharing and for your support!

Dinheiro faz dinheiro... coisas sem necessidades fazem lixos e dividas. E você adotou uma prática eficaz na sua vida, hoje em dia sou bem mais controlada nessa questão, antes eu comprava coisas sem necessidades só por capricho, agora só compro se realmente preciso e realmente mudou minha vida.

É isso mesmo! Ainda bem que adotaste esta prática, e espero que mais gente também o faça. Se não nos focarmos tanto nas coisas materiais, poderemos focar-nos mais nas coisas que realmente interessam na vida.

Muito obrigado pelo apoio e pelo comentário!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63361.04
ETH 2483.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67