Knowledge Bombs #6 - Virginia Woolf

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Knowledge Bombs # 6.png

Adeline Virginia Woolf (1882 - 1941) was an English modernist writer. She was considered a pioneer in the art of using stream of consciousness as a writing style. She is best known for her novels such as Mrs Dalloway and To The Lighthouse, but she also wrote many collections of short stories.

Virginia Woolf's Knowledge Bomb:

If you do not tell the truth about yourself you cannot tell it about other people.

It is always much easier for us to point out what we feel is the truth about other people. It's simple for us to look at someone and say, he is a lout, she is a liar, he is devious. These "truths" that we tell do nothing to sting us unless the person that we are talking about is someone very close to us.

When it comes to telling the truth about ourselves. I am a lout. I am a liar, I am devious...that is a much more difficult truth. For in that truth we must look into our deepest wounds and cut them even deeper before we can start the healing process. The truth about ourselves is not just a matter of putting a bandage on a scrape. It's a matter of scraping more skin off until we have uncovered the pure truth.

Then we can let it heal.


rsz_20431303_10159189122600201_5198366008408502736_n.jpg

My name is Scott. Please follow me for more Knowledge Bombs as well as poetry and other thoughts.

Sort:  

Awesome post, I really enjoyed it. I hope you appreciate the vote!

Thanks for your continued support @sgtechservices. I apologize for my lack of commenting and for my limited amount of upvoting. Since HF19, as with everyone, my votes are limited and my time is so consumed that adds to my weakness of being a poor commentor. You're a great steemian so,...

STEEM ON!!

No need to apologize @gringalicious. You always give me upvotes and I appreciate that very much. Thank you for taking the time to comment, and I am always happy to support the work that you do!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sgtechservices from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Nice post, there is a biblical parable that goes along with this. "Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother's eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye?“

That's brilliant. It conveys the same message. Thank you @beginningtoend for the comment!

Virginia Woolf was a very interesting, tortured, lady. Awesome choice with this one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55