[Introduction of Korean food. #37] Tteokbokki / Topokki (stir-fried rice cakes)

in #life6 years ago

20170903_145415.jpg

Hello?? I am @seunglimdaddy who lives in Korea.

This is the 37th introduction to Korean food, and today I will introduce Tteokbokki / Topokki.

I think it will be hard for you to pronounce it. I will write it as Topokki.

The current Topokki is made by using kochujang as a basic material as shown in the figure below. So it is probably a lot spicy for you to eat.


<image source : http://terms.naver.com/entry.nhn?docId=3384642&cid=42701&categoryId=58382 >

However, it is recommended if you like spicy flavor.

Topokki is made with Garae-Ttoek (a kind of rice cake) and various vegetables.

Garae-Ttoek is shown below. Koreans cut it with a knife when they put it in Topokki.


<image source : http://terms.naver.com/entry.nhn?docId=956107&cid=48169&categoryId=48221 >

Originally, Topokki was made from soy sauce in the royal family. Instead of kochujang, soy sauce will be available for you to enjoy.


<image source : http://terms.naver.com/entry.nhn?docId=1990246&cid=48164&categoryId=48204 >

So, if you come to Korea and choose Topokki, please take a good look at whether Topokki is made into red pepper paste or soy sauce.

If you have not tried Topokki yet, I recommend you try it when you come to Korea.

Next time I will introduce another Korean food.

Thank you for reading. Have a nice day!!

Your following and voting are powerful for me.

Sort:  

I just woke up and this was the 1st post I've seen today and yes now I am feeling hungry. thank you for breakfast idea :p

Topokki looks very good choice, very varied food of Korea

Yes. There are very various foods in Korea..

오호 영문으로 한국 음식 소개라니. 어쩌면 스티밋에서 한글로만 포스팅하는건 너무 작은 물에서 노는것 같아요. ^^

좋게 말씀해주셔서 감사합니다. ^^

appetizing food, must be very tasty

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27