An illustrated martial arts style guide

in #life7 years ago

I'm a fan of mixed martial arts. I don't so much watch it for the bloodied faces and hammer fists, but instead to appreciate the huge display of martial arts styles that get pitted against each other. I love seeing a karate expert face a muay thai fighter, or a wrestler face a boxer. Fighters have to round out their weak points and create a full profile covering striking, grappling, clinching, and a ground game.

I love the long history and wide international reach of hand-to-hand martial arts. Virtually every society has some kind of martial art, some evolution of many years and adaptation of martial arts from elsewhere. MMA puts those martial arts together in a venue where the only measure of a style's success is whether it subdues its opponent.

I put together a guide that shows the styles with their country and year of origin and laid it out in a quadrant between striking and grappling, east and west. Consider this a tribute to the variety and long history of martial arts.

MMA_12_dark_web800px.jpg

Sort:  

Wow nice one - the many different kinds of martial arts out there are very interesting indeed. What did you use to produce this piece of work? And welcome to Steemit!

I have to say though that just kung fu does not seem to give enough coverage to the wushu world.

I would have included wing chun and ninjitsu :)

I would think kung fu is the one that should go into more details which will include wing chun or yong chun.
Something along the line of what is described in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wushu_(sport)
Including my favorite taijiquan

Reminds me of the awesome old Jet Li films :)

This is awesome. Making this my screensaver.

Nice one! I never thought of organizing the different arts like this.

Excellent post! I like your work My friend

Interesting Post , Thank You.

Congratulations @serpentstooth! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63691.77
ETH 3157.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84