Mountain Biking Placitas New MexicosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Placitas New Mexico USA

Headed up to Placitas NM yesterday to check out the mountain biking trails I heard were well suited for intermediate riders. The trailhead is just over 30 minutes north of Albuquerque you can see on the map below.

North Sandia Mountains: Moon above

Placitas is the red area at the top of the map, and the green area inside there is the biking area. The Rio Grande is to the west on the map.

placitas.PNG

Below is my bike, its a 2012 Cannondale lefty 29er full suspension cross country bike. Its called a Lefty because of its one fork (the left one) design.

As you can see I did a 15.8 km, 400m of elevation climbed and a max speed of 30 kmh. On the southside of the map was one of my 2 favorite runs called bobsled if you like air you'll love this, and my second favorite was starting from the same location but heading north on the map was a much faster downhill.

Overall I cannot emphasize enough how great this place was to ride and will definitely be back. There are long climbs with rewarding and challenging descents, and tons of variety. In the future I will try to snap some on trail photo or video for you guys.

One last thing. The houses in this area are really different, built into the side of the hills, sort of makes me think it inspired the Star Wars Tatooine type houses, you can check out these not so great photos I took, or google maps probably grabs it better.


Well hope you guys enjoyed the MTB trip blog. Keep riding gravity and I'll check you later.

  • Serious Bullshit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66507.45
ETH 3328.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69