Quotes from "So Good They Can't Ignore You"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

I finished recently So Good They Can't Ignore You, by Cal Newport. The timing was great for me as I just finished my Master's and I was (am) thinking what to do with my life.

Cal talks about the challenge of finding a meaningful job and studies how people who love their job got there, and surprise, it wasn't by following their passion.

Not only the timing was good because I just finished my M.Sc., but this is a topic I've been thinking about lately. This realisation started to come to me when I watched the great documentary Jiro Dreams of Sushi (go watch it, I don't even like sushi) and became more obvious while I was in Japan for a few months.

Hard working artisan
Source

I plan to write my notes about this book in the future. I'll get into more detail then.

For now, just a couple of my favourite quotes to think about, for my Commonplace book.

[...] two different approaches to thinking about work: the craftsman mindset, a focus on what value you’re producing in your job, and the passion mindset, a focus on what value your job offers you. Most people adopt the passion mindset, but in this chapter I argue that the craftsman mindset is the foundation for creating work you love.

The difference in our abilities by the age of eighteen had less to do with the number of hours we practiced—though he probably racked up more total practice hours than I did, we weren’t all that far apart—and more to do with what we did with those hours.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @septim. Your posts are beautifully formatted, thoughtful and original. Exactly the kind of content Steemit needs. Keep up the good work, I look forward to reading more of your work.

Thank you for your comment @alexandra-renee! I just like to find more people with similar values and interests, hopefully my content helps someone as well :)

upvote your post my friend

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62768.63
ETH 2678.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56