Romance and Remembrance in a City of Sin

in #life7 years ago (edited)

It's time I awoken my inner Gonzo and got back to writing, this time about a rekindled spirit and the playful love I had lost.


Brisbane, Australia

In the last month, I've moved back to the city I once called home after six long years of soul searching. In what was a strategic business move, this change of scenery has quickly become a somewhat romantic tale of love, both lost and found.


At first I was nervous, boarding a plane on a clear Tuesday afternoon, not knowing what my old home may have in store for me. In the short two hour flight, I closed my eyes and visualised my game plan, re-imagining my goals and remembering expectations, soothing my nerves. My nerves had caused me to wander off. Nerves which immediately dispersed once I opened my eyes, exited the plane, and placed my feet back on the tarmac. The air, humidity, and lighting, struck me like a memory bomb, flooding my brain with thousands of moments I thought I had lost. Friends, family, faces, all rushing through my mind like a View-Master.
For the first time in a long time, I felt like I was truly where I belong. Though a stark comparison, I imagined myself as a soldier returning home after a long stint at battle. I had found the first love that I'd lost during a long journey abroad. I had rediscovered my deep love for this city.

Each day that has followed, has been filled with awe. Whether I be working, enjoying the city lights, or dining with a beautiful woman, each day fulfils me. Each thing that I once knew about this place has changed. Yet, the people remain the same.
Meeting old friends and new, I've realised that this place consumes you.

People I hadn't seen for years, seemed as if they had been cryogenically frozen. I felt as if I knew people who no longer knew me, and that I finally had a clean slate; a clean slate being the ultimate goal.
I thought at first that leaving this place with the friendships I had gained would be hard, especially with so many people always suggesting that to be so. Honestly though, it's been easy. I'm so focused right now, that it's impossible for anyone or anything to throw me off of my game.

I've moved here to help my business grow into the dream I believe it to become. We've started moving forward again, this time bootstrapping, to create one of the most innovative digital media platforms the world has never seen. Many individual things have happened recently which are proving our hard work has been worth the sweat and tears. I'm excited for what comes next.
Though there's been a lot of set backs, the lessons we've learned have made us infinitely stronger than what we were when we began our venture. These same lessons have helped me grow personally as well. I've become more business minded overall, both on and off the court. I envision failure as my sole competitor and know I must succeed.

It's only been a month since I left Townsville, and already I've met someone. Her name is Elena.
We immediately hit it off, speaking well into the early morning hours of each evening, leading to individual admissions of affection. We've been inseparable ever since.
Though it's unrealistic of me to think it to be anything serious, it's wonderful. I feel as if I could sit with her forever as the hours roll away.

The End of a Long Night

The love I left behind has been found, and a new love is forming. I wish I could've made this move sooner, but I know I've perfectly calculated my most immediate destiny. I can't account for the ripples created by others, but I know exactly what I need to be doing moving forward, meaning I'm prepared for what happens next. Much work needs to be done, and there's a much longer road ahead of me. I've remained prepared through it all and that's what matters. No one can throw me off of my game.


IMG-20170506-WA0000.jpeg

More skateboarding!


IMG_20170504_160727.jpg

Business


18403279_1445225745598797_4131421067531652813_n.jpg

Friends


IMG-20170517-WA0001.jpg

<3


Thomas Te Aroha Kohi

Music Producer | Hip Hop Artist | Entrepreneur

I was born in New Zealand and now reside in Australia. I write about many different subjects, mostly about those that affect me personally. I like to philosophize about each subject and do the same with my music. I'm addicted to knowledge though I'm no scholar. I try to be original & true in everything I do because I don't like pretending. I'm the realest person out.
Follow me

Sort:  

Nice story ... keep steem on ! :)

Keep trail blazing ;)

Looks like steem is on the way back. Nice post btw

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49