I'm a Sea Bird - Not a Fish - You Gotta Let Me Fly

in #life7 years ago

Hello everyone. I'm going to refrain from the typical glorified blog posts you usual see here these days, and just write.

GOPR1295.JPG


I've been caught up for a little while on Steemit wondering how best to portray my image, my social media worth; "What is my image and what is it worth?" As if to say that image has any value at all, I've been arrogantly projecting myself and my behaviour for attention. Slowly losing myself along the way, forgetting the experiences that led me here; "why did I come here in the first place?"

It's easy to get lost when there's money involved, likely spoken about proverbially between gamblers. I guess that's what happened here, which is something that's hard to forget. Yet the good that this site brings many of us is undeniable. Recently a friend I met on Steemit sent me $100 Steem dollars for a song we made together (@papa-pepper & @verbal-d), proving our community strength in this somewhat revolutionary online hangout. This strength provides us all with hope in these confusing times.

Somewhere in the last year I forgot that spark of hope. I chose to be something I'm not, forgetting who I am and the true value of the experiences that have shaped me. It's what happens when you get caught up in the hype. We sometimes blindly follow whichever path looks richest without considering all our options.

It's been a trialling year; finding Steemit, starting a business, moving houses, finding love, & regrouping with old friends. The last year has tested me beyond comprehension. Life's ups & downs coinciding with each other in the shape of destiny. Each experience has led me here, providing me with the lessons I need to become who I'm destined to be. Few things have worked out according to plan, and even fewer things have benefited where I'm going. Granted, I've made many mistakes.

When it comes to Steemit, in order for myself to provide real value to the community and this blockchain, it's time I returned to sharing posts that embody who I really am; a man without stereotype, surviving each day at a time. I know that sounds like a cliche, hell, most of this does, but it's the truth. This is my blog, my own little space on Steemit, and a place where I can share my memoirs freely, without censorship.

I feel it's not only myself that's guilty when it comes to fishing for likes, though I'm not concerned with what others are doing. I need to stay focused on my own life.
I remember a time when I would concern myself about where the platform is headed and the behaviour of other Steemit users, forgetting to watch my own behaviour. Now I see how trivial it is, worrying about the platform, when you're just a small fish in a vast ocean.
I no longer wish to voice my opinion on Steemit proposals. I no longer wish to promote my posts on other pages or channels. I no longer wish to spend hours formatting a post. I no longer wish to be anti-social for an hour or two while I perfect something most curators don't read.. Rant over.

I'm just going to continue being myself from here on out, no longer worried about that social media fame. I know my worth is more valuable to me than the opinions of others, and I need to admit it here, so I can move forward with the dope blog I came here to make. I'm entitled to my share my own thoughts and that is all.

It's time to be happy both online and offline.

P.S: I've just come back from a short holiday before saying goodbye to my girlfriend as she left to New York for studies. So if you thought I'd left, you can think again suckers. I'll always be here, lurking like a boss!


GOPR1268.JPG

  • Peace & love
Sort:  

Cool to see you back.
For the same reason I left Steemit in December for 6 months. I felt like I was prostituting myself here due to economic reasons. And started projecting personality which I am not.
Now I just post whatever comes to my mind while trying not to pretend bullshit anymore.

Cool to see you with brand new, shaved, cut look :D
And I see that you have also found yourself and awesome partner! ;-)

Amazing post and I think many can relate 😊
Lovely pictures to. Upvoted

It's taken me a few months to find my voice on steemit and all it took was to start writing what I'm thinking about. Pretty simple. I'm done with politically correct topics and word choices, for the real world is not polite or PC. I'm gladdened to see that you have decided to find your voice as well. You are the type of people that I want on my feed, people being real,therefore I followed.

Isn't it so hard to be honest and act like your true self when every single post and comment has money on the line?

Overall I am positive about Steemit. But there are certainly times when I "snap out of it" and it just feels like a job, posting every day to try and earn money. In that mindset, the inconsistency of payouts can be really frustrating.

Kudos to you for finding a good happy place to Steem from!

Amazing post! Your clever and frank remarks make you absolutely fascinating; you rock!

Gorgeous beach & beautiful Wahine! :) I'm sure many Steemians can relate.

Good on ya bud. Life's rollercoaster has boths ups and downs but just accept they are both a part of the experience and life becomes much more content. I like your honesty and inspiration, be yourself. You've inspired me to start sharing more of my life on here and in turn hope to inspire others.

Nice to meet you on the Facebook group. U have some cool posts. I'm following you now. Stay in touch bud and don't stop steeming! @sidsun

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55