Always Remember That You Matter @senseicat

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, was a day of mourning for me. I was at home waiting for my husband and son to return with their Mother's day surprises for me when I received a text message from my son's friend. "HE KILLED HIMSELF." He was a 12 year old boy in middle school that was a friend to everyone. He won the kindness award. He is the kid who always wears a smile. When my son was competing in a race, this kid stopped to retrieve my son's medicine that had fallen out of his pocket that another child kicked under the fence. This kid eagerly returned my son's wave after school. He was known as one of the "cool kids."

you matter.png

Today, the children wrote notes to this kid on his desk at school. The kids are getting ready to study for final exams and end of season sports tournaments.

This kid was an angel on earth to everyone he met and now is gracing heaven with his presence.

Sort:  

It’s ‘that time of year’. I know that’s an odd statement; but, it’s final-exams time…it’s the end of an ‘era’ time when people graduate and move forward. Some find the thought too daunting.

While tragic that people are so weighted by life that this is their exit strategy, it’s also quite common.

I’m sure there’s a story behind the story, should people be willing to speak the truth.

While we’re shedding light on this topic, we lose 22 soldiers a day to suicide; but, that’s hardly mentioned. More than 8K people a year, equaling more than 80K per decade, deem the dark side of military life too unbearable to keep going on in this human realm.

Could meds be at the root; with prescribed cures for depression causing a darkness far worse?

Obviously, and of course, deemed trite, I’m sorry for the loss of this bright light. But, most importantly, God loves His children. He knew this would be this lad’s last day on earth. In the mystery of all the turmoil He, indeed, has a plan.

Prayers for all.

Peace.

This is truely sad and a really serious topic which should be discussed at school. It's really difficult to recognize depression and suicidal thoughts in time but the public should be made more consciuous and the teachers at school should be trained to recognize and support vulnerable students early in order to prevent self-damaging decisions. May he rest in peace and may his parents be strong enough to cope with this desperate situaton!

We can never really know the suffering people are experiencing inside. To be in such pain, at so young an age, as to take your own life is truly saddening.

May God bless him. Life is beautiful. Unfortunately, it is also sometimes cruel.

I truly appreciate you expressing your thoughts. I am processing how this could be the second leading cause of death in this precious age range.

Thank you... as to why this is happening to young people, well, that is a real issue. But I certainly won't get into right now, very inappropriate of me I think.

As for me, I'm going to tell my loved ones I love them, and tell them we can talk about anything...anything at all. Your post reminded me how infrequent I do this. Thank you again.

Yes, these are excellent reminders for ourselves to communicate openly to our loved ones.

I got very upset by reading this text. It is very difficult to lose loved ones. The kids are the angels responsible for keeping them. Losing an angel is sad

How strong, the pain that your mother must feel must be horribl and your son must be very sad about the loss of his friend, God give him a lot of strength I am very sorry

It is always so devastating to have a young person suicide, but a child is even more upsetting. So young and such a serious decision. What in the world went wrong for this young 12 year old?

Damn I really feel bad about this. RIP to him

I'm still waiting for my last question to be answered.....

I can't even imagine what that boy's family must be going through. Such a young person and seems to have been a good egg too. So tragic.

We had a suicide in the family a few years ago and it still has a great impact on us to this day. Those emotions are a minefield.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63402.76
ETH 2554.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66