Breathe man......just breathe.......

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Breathing techniques

OK, in my previous post I talked about my experiences of panic attacks and what I found helpful or not helpful while it was taking place.. I also very briefly mentioned controlled breathing, this is a broad term but breathing techniques can be very effective when anxiety starts to take hold of someone.

I'm not going to try to teach any techniques here, there are many different techniques to choose from, but I can discuss if they work and their level of effectiveness.
Please remember this is from my own personal experience, I'm not an expert in the science of why or why not breathing techniques work but I do practice one particular technique along with a meditation and I have my own thoughts on the practice.

le-minh-phuong-niH7Z81S44g-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Le Minh Phuong on Unsplash

So what do I do?

I practice a Martial Art called Aikido, more specifically, Shin Shin Toitsu Aikido/Ki Aikido. One of the reasons I started this was because of the practice of meditation and breathing, in fact it was the main reason I started.
We regularly practice a breathing technique in the Dojo and are encouraged to practice the technique frequently. The reason in Aikido is to help develop the relationship with something called, “One Point”, that's not what this blog post is about but maybe in the future.

In essence when you, “Have one point”, you are completely relaxed and the breathing helps you develop that state of body and mind.

What I will say about this is that I have found it extremely useful as a practice and now realise just how effective it has been for me to relax. I have used it when coming down from a panic attack, I have also used it just to help me wind down from a tough day. But beyond using it to defuse a state of anxiety in yourself it can be used just because. No reason beyond just being able to breath more effectively and with increased benefit to myself.

indian-yogi-yogi-madhav-S2eX-jJSiOM-unsplash (1).jpg

Photo by Indian Yogi (Yogi Madhav) on Unsplash

Essentially diaphragm breathing has major health benefits for a practicing individual, far too often we breathe from the top of our lungs in a very shallow manner. But when we open our lungs up with good posture and deeper more natural breaths we begin to reap the benefits.

Again this is not any sort of instructional post, but more of an invitation to look up and try some breathing techniques. Be aware of your posture and breathing habits. A small change can make a big difference.

Just out of interest, if you are reading this on a desktop or laptop right now, be aware of how you are sitting. Are you hunched over the keyboard or leaning into the screen. If so take a minute to sit with better posture open your lungs and breath from your diaphragm.

Let yourself relax and be calm.

Sort:  

Congratulations @scruffyal! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @scruffyal! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75