Dinner Disaster!

in #life6 years ago

This was one of those days when I wasn't at all enthused about making supper to begin with. I was having fun working on Steemit posts, and had plans for knitting and a movie. Cooking was not on my radar. Late in the afternoon, I remembered we hadn't had stir-fry since the day I came down with a nasty "bug" while preparing it, nearly a month ago. Sufficient time has passed for me to face it again, and I knew there were chicken and vegetables in the freezer, and rice in the cupboard, so I began to make chicken stir-fry for supper. First, I put a cup of brown rice on to cook. Then I thawed the chicken breasts in the microwave just enough to be able to dice them. Once the chicken was browned I opened 2 bags of frozen stir-fry veggies and added that to the pan. After it was all getting heated through nicely, I opened the fridge to grab the stir-fry sauce. It wasn't there. I had bought a HUGE bottle of it at Costco, and was SO sure there was enough left for at least one more batch of stir-fry, if not two. But it was gone. All I could find was a small bottle containing about 1/4 cup of teriyaki sauce. Presumably, the family member who took over making the previous batch of stir-fry (when I became unable to do so) used it all up, although the pinch-hitting cook has no memory thereof.

Off to the computer I flew, scribbling down the first easy stir-fry sauce recipe I found. No time to read comments, or compare ingredients! Speed was of the essence! I was not in the best of moods as I tossed ingredients into a jar, as directed by the recipe; many words frequently used by ill-mannered teens swirled in my mind, but only one was uttered. I shook up the sauce, added it hopefully to the pan of meat and vegetables, brought it to a boil, let it heat through for a few minutes, and served it up.

I don't make very many lousy suppers, but this was definitely one of them. For some mysterious reason the rice was gooey and hadn't absorbed all the water, even though it had extra cooking time while I manufactured stir-fry sauce. And the sauce was runny and flavorless. We all choked it down anyway, and I am going to see if there is at least an ice cream bar in the freezer with which to console myself.

Sort:  

When in doubt, add hot sauce!

I made a terrible dinner this week as well...it took way too long to make and was void of all flavor! I hadn't had one like then in a long time...so I guess I was do. Lol Hope you got to eat your ice cream bar!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97