Sort:  

I like Star Trek Voyager. There you will see conflict because of the crew is half Federation and half rebel Marquis. Thrust into unknown quadrant where they will get no help from the Federation. Force to rely on the themselves and whatever technology they could develop or find in this new environment. I think this is how Roddenberry vision is tested when there is no Federation to enforce it

The Maquis story line is actually something that was going through my mind when writing this. No one can blame the Federation for trading territory that would end a brutal war and no one can blame people who lived there entire lives in that territory for wanting to stay.

Yes, even the Federation is not perfect.

@rjona1 after TNG, voyager was probably one of my favorite star trek series.

Yes me too

I like toast 🍞

Yes, in the end I think I would watch just about any new series. I am also excited because my step daughter has found an interest in Star Trek ... TOS, in fact. She just loves Spock. Discovery however will be the first new series in her lifetime. I have fond memories of waiting for TNG to come out. The one thing that annoys me is CBS putting it behind the paywall of a streaming channel no one subscribes to. It seems they want to use it to boost subscribers to AllAccess more than anything else, which reduces the likelihood of wider distribution on real channel anytime soon. And you know what, it will probably work. I have considered subscribing just to get that one show!

That is great that your step daughter has showb an interest, it will be fantastic to share it with her. :-)

Like yourself I'll probably subscribe to see it.

The one series that I always wanted to see was one about the federation secret service called section 31, they always intrigued me and I thought that it would have made a nice and different Star Trek series.

Yes, they first introduced that in DS9 I think, but it was near the end and not fully developed. I felt like the Dominion war, while still pretty well written, took the microcosm that made DS9 special and tried to turn it into War and Peace. There were so many ideas that some of them faltered. DS9 explored the ideas of shifting alliances and ulterior motives, but at the same time gave it's "villains" more sympathatic betrayals than in any previous iteration. I mean Gul Dukat was one of the most well rounded adversies ST has ever produced and you got the impression that Sisko really respected him even if he didn't trust him.The Founders were interesting, but more of a return to the outsider threat. I think section 31 could have been worked into the Cardassia/Bajor/Maquis dynamic just fine and would have had given it more room to grow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.38
ETH 3379.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47