You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Teach Your Kids That They Have a Voice

in #life7 years ago

What a great post. It's definitely something that I endeavour to build in my children. I am also a teacher and find that some kids are very shy and often need their parents there to speak for them. Manners, although thought of as something from an older generation, is a sign of respect. There are many children that sometimes have an air of entitlement and rarely use their manners.
I teach kids to smile and say a simple hello to people as they pass. It builds confidence and always brings a smile to the other person.

I like what you write and am looking forward to reading more. Thanks for sharing.

Sort:  

Thank you! I love hearing your perspective as a parent and as a teacher. I agree, the simple art of polite interactions seem to have been a bit lost on a lot of the kids these days. I read an article the other day discussing how employers are actually having a difficult time hiring younger people, not because they can't perform the tasks, but because they do not possess simple, polite people skills. I hope to instill those skills in my kids so they will be able thrive in whatever environment they choose to pursue as they grow up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61804.64
ETH 3395.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51