The scent of rains and the ever changing life

in #life6 years ago (edited)

They bring me back the nostalgia of childhood. Those days when I used to make small paper boats, and watch them float in the stream of rainwater. Then I grew old. Slowly, the empty fields were covered by the jungle of concrete. Rains became less frequent. However, they still carried scent that made me feel relaxed. The scent, that is produced by a group of bacteria called Actinomyces. You know, that smell of freshly wet earth, that comes during the rains.

image

Yes that scent. But meaning of that scent changed over time. It was no more about watching paper boats float. It was the scent of romance now. I remember all the bike rides in the rain, on those dates. Driving the bike through the rain with friends, to grab street food with some beer. Then bike changed to car. My dates wanted the windows to be rolled up. But, everytime I would drive alone, I would roll them down and open the sun-roof. Damn right!

image

I like the fact, that derivative of life it never zero. It's never a constant. I didn't even realise when life got me into research. The best part about it, was that it got me to city where rains were frequent. It got me to Bangalore. A city, which is never too hot, and never too cold. A city of lakes. Though, most of the lakes are polluted.

image

Nonetheless, on my way to work there is this tiny pond. When I am stressed at work, I stare at it. The sight of it gives me solace. Though, I always wonder why. And then when the rain drops hits the skin of water on the pond, mixed with the smell of earth. The sight is serene.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by scienceblocks from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81