Blank Canvas: A poem

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Blank Canvas

An artist may not have anything meaningful to record yet still the fine white porous surface gets stained with the wear of life and time. Allways ready to be colored in with meticulous detail and loving care. A sweet warming memory of an afternoon. A sunset next to towering cottonwoods, the cool gentle water flowing. An amazing image that captures wonderful hues of emerald and gold so vivid that it brings a jolt to your soul and a tear to your eye. Forgotten in the corner, the canvas takes in the sweat stains of hard work, blurry eye induced coffee rings, the dirt and oil stains of rusty broke down vehicles, a greasy yellow film from the smoke of thousands of burning cigarettes, exhaled in contemplation of the next day. They all paint their own picture onto the once white, clean, and smooth surface. Inevitably, unwillingly, a story is told. An image is formed clearly yet the subjectivity and meanings are lost upon the viewer who sees an old stained and wrinkled canvas. A canvas that should have been used to capture wonderful hues of emerald and gold. A warm and sweet memory of a lost feeling streaked across its surface in brilliant colorful brushstrokes.

steemit pics.jpg Original Picture take my me in Livingston Montana

(this poem manifested itself through some very complex feeling I had been contemplating about life, death, and our purpose in this world. I feel that writing this poem helped me externalize those deep-set emotions so I could step back and subjectively view them and assess why those feeling are present. I am afraid of my life becoming meaningless, all my aspirations for the future come to fruition only to die prematurely. Although I have very positive aspirations for the future. Thank you for reading this poem of mine because it helps to share these feelings with others who may be able to relate. I rarely express my emotions through poetry but when I do it flows from a place that I often do not tap into and with the help of my fellow Steemians I hope to continue to channel those emotions into written word in hopes that this helps others along their life journeys. Thank you all!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60988.21
ETH 2373.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55