The One Action That Leads to Success in Business and Life

in #life7 years ago

Let me share a secret about myself. It's about something I did a few years ago that changed my life. It's something I continue to do today, though at times have stopped.

photo-montage-488177_640.jpg
image source

One Daily Action

Many people speak of specific mindsets or daily habits that are key to their success or happiness. I believe this is something that transcends for most.

Specific actions that can be taken that have a positive impact on the vast majority of people that practice them.

There is specific action that does this for me.

The Practice of Gratitude

A few years ago I stumbled upon a podcast and heard about the person's morning routine. Amongst that routine was a habit that came to change my life.

The practice is....

  • Writing Out Daily Gratitudes

When I came upon this I began to do it daily. I procured a journal and each morning I'd put on some instrumental music and take 5 minutes to write out gratitudes.

In fact, here is the song I listened to this morning and the beautiful picture that came with it.

The Beautiful Shift In Myself That Occurred

Now here is why I'm sharing this with you.

Throughout my life I have always been me own worst critic. I have focused on the end goal and not enjoyed the success achieved along the way. I always focused on what I didn't have as opposed to what I did.

And then it all changed....

As I wrote gratitudes each day, I began to realize many of the things I wrote were actually things I had accomplished. Success I had garnered through my efforts. I started to realized that I was not a failure, I was actually pretty successful it turned out.

Another epiphany was many of the things I was grateful for; they turned out to be things I was happy I had the ability to do for other people.

The more I wrote the more I realized I was a pretty good person that has had some success. Now, that is not to say I thought I was a bad person, but like I said - own worst critic.

It all led me to say something to myself I had never said before....

"Wow, I'm pretty freaking awesome!"

The crazy part was I truly believed it and felt confident in that statement. I finally became comfortable in my own skin!

The Impacts

Not only did I have this shift in the way I felt about myself. I also had a shift in the way I viewed everything else.

I began to focus on what I had instead of what I did not have

I went from complaining about what I did not have and what I did not get and what I thought I deserved....to instead being thankful for what I did have, realizing all the great stuff I have relative to so many others.

The Intangible Effect

This focus on what I was grateful for also poured into business related affairs. The aura of opportunity emanated from me.

Rather than complain to people about what I wasn't getting out of my work, my sales, my posts - I instead spoke about the opportunity of it all. The progress that had already been made.

You know what that did? Made people want to be involved with me, do work with me and conduct business with me.

Falling Off The Wagon

After practicing gratitudes most days over the past couple years I recently went on a three month streak where I did not do the physical task of writing them out.

It took a couple of months for the reversion, but I realized the past month I had been a bit of brat and whiny about what I didn't have. I found myself having days where I just thought, whatever world. Whatever!

Four day ago I began my routine again of a short mediation followed by writing out gratitudes. I'm already noticing the impact.

The Practice of Writing Daily Gratitudes - Here is How

The ease of this is part of what makes it awesome!

  • Get a notebook, journal, sheet of paper or whatever you prefer.

  • Take a moment for yourself wherever you need to (five minutes is plenty)

  • Write the date down and then four or five things you are grateful for that day.

It doesn't have to be big life altering things.

You can write things as simple as "I am grateful for the beautiful sunny day today."

Don't be afraid to write some of the same things everyday, I do!

Remember it's about the impact of the words and practice.

Example

Here's what I wrote today:

  • Grateful that I have rental properties that cash flow
  • Grateful that I get to do a radio show
  • Grateful I am able to go play basketball tonight
  • Grateful that I have internet access at the touch of a finger

See, I'm not writing anything mind boggling, but the message that slowly develops as you write more and different gratitudes each day will come to pop out at you!


Heck, I'm grateful that I can use my bitcoin to trade stocks and currencies. Which I do here: https://1broker.com

Or that I'm in a position to risk a little bitcoin on a high risk high reward investment like: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=Mitch78


I will talk about gratitude on the Music and Money Show on MSP Waves Radio today at 4pm EST, along with all the other great show content you have come to expect!

Listen here: http://mspwaves.com/home/listen/

Steemit_txtdvidr.png

Best Regards,
Scaredy Cat Guide Logo_SiteHeader3.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @Kubby from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Great post..I was doing a motivational series where I wrote about taking a moment to reflect on your achievements..quite powerful..also it appears great minds use the same stock photos, i used the same one for a post a while back

Here's what I am thinking after reading your post:

  1. I am grateful that I stopped using facebook.
  2. I am grateful to have discovered steemit.
  3. I am grateful to this post because it encourages confidence in oneself.

I am grateful to you for this post ;)

Thanks for reminding us to take time and reflect on the many things we have instead of the ones we have yet to obtain.

Yes, I myself forget sometimes. It is important for even just perspective. :-)

This speaks to me so much. I practice gratitude daily and it's changed my life for the better. 💙

Yay @choogirl. Always doing awesome things you are! :-)

I love this post friend!! So accurate.

I'm right there with ya on this thinking. This was fantastically written...to the very last sentence. Thanks so much!! 🙏

Thanks you @wipgirl, that means alot to me.

Wow great post....❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59789.86
ETH 2418.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43