You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Of Pennies and Humble Pie - a true story inspired by a post from @bendjmiller222

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Guess those kids learned "a penny saved is a penny earned."

When I was a kid there was a guys that used to cruise my neighborhood every thursday morning in a beat up old pick up truck collecting on the cans out of the recycleable pals. 5 cents a pop, did it for years. Until one day I saw him driving a BRAND NEW pickup truck!

Sort:  

I love those 5 cent cans! They don't have them in Florida but man, between my kids' soda and husband's beer, we'd buy steak for dinner. :)

Haha, yeah it CAN (no pun intended) definitely add up.
I'm in Florida too. Grew up in NY though (like most people in South Florida) and was excited to not have to pay the deposit tax anymore. :-)

Holy crap! I'm a New York transplant too. Orange County...where there are more cows than cabs. LOL
Good point about the deposit tax. I'm still wondering how much junk aluminum will get me in an attempt to keep what I can out of the landfills.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60046.04
ETH 2997.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71