Home made electric car for my kid, powered by a Drill

in #life7 years ago

The drill car

My dad is quite a character, and runs his own company the robotics industry. But he found the time make this little rascal for my son.

It's a cordless DRILL-driven car. This version only has power to one rear wheel, which works well. The power is amazing. Even with a small battery it does 7 mph (12 km/h) at full speed. With a large battery it does almost 15 mph (which is of course dangerous for a 3 year old) He can even do donuts on gravel with it. The only problem with this is that the battery last so long..

It has suspension and a gas pedal. The break pedal is not functioning yet, but it will. And of course, switch the drill on to reverse - the car goes into reverse. And of course it breaks once your foot leaves the gas pedal.

The steering wheel is a frisbee.

 

20170824_100923.jpg

 

20170824_100930.jpg

 

20170824_100937.jpg

Sort:  

What i like most about it.. is the random parts he has used. The frisbee for a steering wheel gets me haha..

Your dad will be handy in a zombie apocalypse he could just Macguiver up some stuff and save everyone :)

Haha. Youre right. Thats pretty hillarious :)

This is a very innovative and ingenious hack of a drill. Being a DIY enthusiast myself I love such ideas.

Cool! Thanks! Let me know if you need some more pictures or whatever if you ever going to make one. Unfortunately making things with my hands is not my interest or skill, but I have a camera :)

@scandinavianlife, it is amazing to think about where our minds go when givien the chance to think in new ways. Once we remove the blinders, the ability to imagine and dream is not constricted.

But most people would have said, "That's too hard!" or "It's impossible!"

Thanks for sharing about what your Dad created. Thanks for the creations you share though your Steemit articles!

Thank you so much @sumatranate ! I thought it could be fun for someone who is interested and good with their hands to receive the idea. I'm not sure about every detail, but it's pretty simple. If you understand how to weld the front/rear axle and make the steering it's that more complicated than that I think.

Your dad is creative !! With makeshift equipment capable of producing great work

I upvoted and resteemed.

That is cool. Hey have your dad make a blog post or create a pdf instruction so that we can all be cool dads? I have a 2 year old who would love to have a ride in this.

Him make a blog post? Listen closely and you'll hear Odin lolling on the floor in Valhalla. :) But I can try to convince him to make a recipe!

innovation at its peak..this is credible. More grace to you....

This is so cool. I wanted to make something similar, didn't realize that drill could provide enough torque.

Me neither, but it's amazing how strong it is. Even with a small battery the car lays donuts on gravel. It can even go offroad pretty well. The only thing I would try to improve is the weight. It's a little heavy at about 10kg (18lbs?)

That's quite ingenious, making an electric drill powered car. The pedal pulls the cable, which compresses the power button on the drill, neat! Put the brakes in though. A video of the donuts would have been nice! 👍

I might post a video on Dtube! I totally forgot about Dtube :) I just want to make sure my kids face is not showing, so I'll try and make an incognito-video later. Thanks!

That'll be great!

Beautiful. I hope YOU have a WONDERFUL day!!! Following YOU!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43