Why It Is Important To Connect The Dots In Life

in #life6 years ago

system-2660914_1280.jpg

I think I have mentioned this before that one of my inspirations in life has been the late cofounder of Apple, Steve Jobs. Although some of you would disagree with me as to the appropriateness of a person like him to be someone’s inspiration, owing to the fact that he is known to have been a bully sometimes, it is what it is!

I have watched countless videos of him on stage introducing one product after the other and his interviews for different agencies and I have always learned something new from him every time.

Perhaps the biggest influence he had on me was when he gave the commencement speech at Stanford in 2005. Seriously, if you haven’t yet watched it, you need to check it out.

He laid some great words of wisdom in his speech and I have even written about some of them before. But perhaps one of the most important things he talked about was the importance of connecting dots.

You Can Only Connect The Dots Looking Backwards

time-2835201_1280.jpg

You know what most motivational articles on the internet say? They advice you to forget about the past and just concentrate on the future. But I think differently. Why ignore the past when all of your greatest lessons happened in the past!!

Also, sometimes, to have clear view of the future, you need to look into the past and connect the dots. As Steve said in the speech, you can only connect the dots looking backwards, and he was absolutely correct.

When you are taking an important decision in life, one that could be a defining moment for you, it is of vital importance that you view your life up until that point as a bigger picture consisting of a series of related or unrelated events and somehow, if you are able to find connections between these events, you could have that aha moment and gain the clarity you had been seeking for so long!

Even creative people will tell you that some of their masterpieces have been the result of this dot connecting which was made possible only because they found connections between two or more things and just combined them and brought it into the world.

Tales From The Past

book-2929646_1280.jpg

In the speech, Steve Jobs shared a story from his past that made a huge impact in his life and computers in general. He had dropped out of college but remained on campus to take classes that he was interested in Calligraphy was one of these classes.

A decade down the road, the same calligraphy class that he had taken, prompted him to include different typefaces in the first Macintosh computers that they were developing at Apple and it was a huge step in personal computers at the time.

Even in my own life, I had always been interested in writing, right from my childhood, but never really pursued it as a career but last year when I was seriously thinking about my future path, it all came to me and I started my own blog and just weeks later I found Steemit!

So, I was in a perfect position to start on Steemit since I had gained some experience of running a blog in the weeks prior to it! So, somehow you have to trust that even insignificant things in your past could lead to a big change in your life, if you just manage to connect the dots.

Sort:  

Really enjoyed your post. I am an olden golden goodie and one of my life lessons I have learned over the years is not to doubt the events in your life whether they are good or bad they are happening for a reason and you will not know until down the road and it will all seem so clear and make sense. Perfect title connect the dots. I always say it is like getting a 3000 piece puzzle and slowly working away at it until it is complete which symbolizes life. Thanks for sharing....appreciate.

Exactly. Many times in life we notice that insignificant events play a huge role in the future or a seemingly bad thing or phase turned out to be actually for good. So, yeah don't underestimate anything. :)

"you can only connect the dots looking back"
this is so true, taking stock of our lives is more important to foster progress

You know what's funny? Just as you I created a post about connecting the dots just yesterday and of course I refered to Steve Jobs as well as you :D
It's just this guy, like everybody, had his weaknesses and things like letting Chinese children build the iPhone .. yeah not the best option. But Steve was just one of the craziest maniacs (in a positive way) that the world has ever seen and he contributed so much (of course here I have to include Steve Wozniak) so the computer world and all of our everyday life! I often think about his quote

We're here to put a dent in the universe ..

I mean a dent in the universe seriously? I'm so glad there are always people like him who are crazy enough that they think they can change the world (again) just like now Elon Musk.

To refer to your post: As I like being mindful and present and so on, if you want to move on you just can't go ahead and forget your past and focus 120% in the future. I think it's more about letting go instead of forgetting. Whatever happened it will always be a part of you and your subconscious mind, if you want it or not. So accepting this fact and letting it just go or letting it be as it is (which doesn't mean to "just live with it" but rather accept it, learn from it, move on and be stronger than the last time :)

And lastly just like when we're talking in terms of Cryptocurrency or even Daytrading there's nothing more valueable to fully understand the mechanics of technical analysis which consists for instance of candle patterns FROM THE PAST.

Thanks for the post, highly appreciated!
Have a nice day!
lion.png

This must be the mother of all coincidences!! hahaha

Looks like you and I drew the same conclusions about Steve Jobs. He had his flaws but yeah, you can't ignore the world changing things that he has done and the wisdom he has left behind for people like you and me to follow.

You made a brilliant point. Letting go instead of forgetting. Absolutely brilliant. You seem like a very wise person and I totally agree with that crypto analysis thing too!! Kudos :D

It is very important for our brains to continue to use them, grow, and expand. If not we will create diseases and they will basically weaken our brain which will weaken our body and health.

Without connecting our past, we would not learn where things needed to improve. They say everything happens for a reason. Our past makes us aim to improve and not end up in a wash, rinse and repeat cycle.

I really like your posts

Personally I like to take a good quality from every influencer in history and apply that to my life. I loved the creativity and imagination of Steve Jobs, I love the work ethic of Elon Musk, the righteousness and adherence to religion of Krishna, the motivation of Subhas Chandra Bose, the competitive spirit of Michael Jordan, the list goes on and on. Thanks for the awesome read :)

That is a great way to live life man. I really appreciate that! Truly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06