Depression Is Real But Suicide Is Not The Answer (RIP Chester Bennington)

in #life7 years ago

0.jpg

I was saddened this morning when I heard the news about Linkin Park’s lead singer, Chester Bennington. He was found dead at a private residence from an apparent suicide, aged 41.

According to reports, his wife and six children were not present at the scene when it happened and his body was discovered by a housekeeper, soon after which, police officers showed up.

This has left his family, friends and millions of fans around the globe shocked and heartbroken. Chester was a really talented, beloved and successful artist but had a somewhat difficult life battling depression, alcoholism and drug addiction.

The singer had previously hinted in his songs and interviews that he was not at a good place in life and might have been suffering from mental health issues. In fact, in his last interview, he had talked about his battles with depression.

Depression - The Extreme Low of Life

1.jpg

Being in depression is quite literally the extreme low of life that anybody can face. It is a constant battle with your own mind where you have nothing but pain and suffering.

Most people who suffer from depression feel as though they are lost and out of control and each day feels worse than the previous one and life itself starts becoming a burden and almost like a prison.

Therefore we hear many instances of these people committing suicide as their “way out”. In their mind it’s the only and a permanent solution for all their misery.

It’s heart breaking to see many people take this option but there are a lot more who defeat their demons and turn their life around in the most heroic ways and it is these people who should be seen as examples.

Suicide Is Not The Answer

2.jpg

No matter how lost or confused one might feel, there is always a way. Even in the darkest of rooms there is a tiny sliver of light and if one wishes, they can find the same in their lives too.

People often forget that time is the ultimate healer. Things always change. That’s the nature of reality itself. Not everything remains the same. After a dark night, the day is sure to come.

One can always seek help from family, friends, colleagues or heck even the various services that have opened up that pertain to this particular issue.

Suicide is never the answer. The story ends for the person who commits it but the mountain of pain he or she leaves behind for their loved ones is for them to bear and that, in my opinion, is just not fair.

From The Heart

3.jpg

I grew up listening to Linkin Park’s songs. In fact, my interest in music and me learning to sing and play the guitar was because of bands like Linkin Park.

Songs like Numb, In the end, What I’ve done, Bleed It Out, had huge influence on me as a teenager and they still take me back on a nostalgic path, whenever I listen to them.

The world really has lost a great artist today. Rest in peace Chester. Your music shall forever be in our hearts.



Image Credits 1, 4 (The rest are taken from the public domain.)

Sort:  

He was the symbol of my childhood. His music literally lifted my spirits during school periods. The lyrics were spot on and this truly big artist will be missed for sure!

I became the "cool" teacher in the school, because I played Linkin Park in class regularly. I got to see them live in 2014. RIP Chester

This comment has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 15.00 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @rkrijgsman. Vote for Aggroed!


This comment got a 2.15 % upvote thanks to @rkrijgsman - Hail Eris !

Depression or mental illness is a very complicated subject, what many may think is easy and clear cut isn't to the person going through it, especially when the depressed person is in that 'dark place' or with 'tunnel vision'. It's always helpful to be a friend and try to be there to listen, entertain or distract I have found all these to be helpful. Believing in a higher power is often a very good deterrent. My personal phone line has always been open to my friend's and family during anytime should they feel like this. They can attest to this being so. No one is ever too busy to be there for someone. Wish I could've been there for Chester too.

I was completely broken by the news. Not only was Linkin Park my favourite band by a landslide as I grew up, it almost became part of my identity. Or at least giving me so many good memories.

People often forget that time is the ultimate healer. Things always change. That’s the nature of reality itself. Not everything remains the same. After a dark night, the day is sure to come.

This sums it up very well I think. I know I've felt completely down many times. But most of these experience I don't even remember. They are gone. The mind is an interesting thing, for better and for worse. It can subject you to complete misery, and then proceed as if it never happened.

I hope we all manage to keep that in mind whenever we feel down. That nothing is permanent in this world, and that change always happens if we choose so.

I saw a tweet today that said, something along the lines of, "people aren't suicidal because they want to die, but because they just want the pain of life to stop." Depression is something that is hard to get away from when it's affecting you because it affects every part of your life, whether you show it or not. @sauravrungta you're right - suicide is not the answer. I would also encourage people to reach out for counseling, therapy, or medication if they're feeling suicidal. If anyone reading this is struggling, just know that you are not alone and there are resources to help the pain stop in healthy ways. USA Suicide Prevention Hotline: Call 1-800-273-8255.

RIP Chester! Some celebrities that knew him personally are saying Chester would never commit suicide because he loved his kids too much. They told a source of mine in confidence their name would not be released. However there are multiple celebs that knew him personally questioning if this was suicide or in their own words "a hit". Strange stuff going o.

Wouldn't surprise me at all if this was a case of murder disguised as suicide.

Yup me too we will see future will tell I hope :)

I just watched a youtube video interview of he and Mike Shinoda. He said after finishing this last album, he felt the best he had in a long time. He said he was in a very good place in his life.

You see something is very fishy on the whole story of his death I hope the truth will come out one day he was a cool dude and did great music.

When a celebrity commits suicide, it should be listed as 'suicide', because we really don't know if there was foul play, and quite honestly, that is always a possibility when it comes to the entertainment industry.

Wow... This is the best post I have read on steemit. People need to see this , suicide Is not the Answer when one is depressed . resteemed

Reason, why people go to depression, is when you know you have million of followers on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. But in reality, you have no friends in real life. Best outlet is talking to a friend that always there beside you. Hear you and drag you away from an eternal black hole of loneliness. I've been there and found a way to escape it. But indeed we lost another Great Artist .

i've always viewed suicide as a permanent solution to a temporary problem. and it just transfers problems to your 'loved ones' in terms of grief and guilt which they probably don't deserve. there have been many times when i would have rather be dead than in the emotional pain that i was in but was willing to leave my mess for others to clean up. to me suicide is a copout

I belive Depession can lean to stess and then eventully that person loses hope in life. He feels that he cant achive his goals in his life becuase he is at that phase that Depression will take over this motives and take away his smooth life which he had before. I feel those in sad mind, they should be surrounded by positves vibes, and postive enviroment this will help them atleast feel to do something creative in life.When we get into adult fase there will be ups and downs, but its how a person takes those mistakes and has the will to correct his mistakes.
Upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84