Awkward Things People Do In Social Situations (Part I)

in #life7 years ago

0.jpg

We all know that there are basically two types of people, the introverts and the extroverts. There are also many people who lie somewhere in the middle of these two categories, but for the purposes of this post, we’ll just assume the two.

While the extroverts are those who get really energized by social gatherings and human interaction, introverts are quite the opposite and the same things are quite draining to them. Not only that, they don’t quite feel comfortable being in such scenarios.

How do I know this? Well, I used to be an introvert myself and it is only in the past 6-7 years that I have slowly managed to become an ambivert. However, I still remember how gruesome these social situations used to be.

The funniest part though is the plethora of awkward things we do knowingly or unknowingly when we are in the presence of other people, for no apparent reason at all. Let’s look at some that I have observed (and been guilty of) myself!

1. Should I Look At The Left or Right Eye?

woman-3138567_1280.jpg

So, when we talk to a person, we look at their face, right? But no one told us which part of the face to look at. Is it the nose as it is the centre of the face, or is it the eyes?

But should we look at the left eye or the right eye. Maybe we are supposed to transition from one eye to the other at regular intervals. Or maybe it’s not the eyes. Lips then? No, that might be creepy.

These are the kind of thoughts that run inside an introvert’s mind when talking to a stranger. Instead of focusing on the conversation, they tend to focus on trivial things such as this!

2. Losing Motor Skills When Someone Is Looking

2.jpg

Has it ever happened to you that you are just walking normally like normal people do and all of a sudden, you notice someone looking at you and following the trajectory of your walk? You suddenly lose all motor skills and start walking as if your hands and legs were independent of the body!

This gets worse if it is your crush that is looking at you or some really attractive person! Why does the brain simply forget to do simple things like … walk? Why??

3. Handshake or Hug?

farewell-3109992_1280.jpg

This is another awkward scenario between two people when one of them is trying to shake the other’s hand but the other is reaching for a hug. Then you have this 3 seconds of real confusing period when they are both not sure what to do next. Whether to keep going with their original decision or to change according to the other?

This is often led by nervous laughter or awkward silence. Both are the bane of an introvert’s existence!

4. Forgetting Name After 2 Minutes

question-2736480_1280.jpg

This has probably happened to all of us. When at a party or a meetup we generally go around introducing ourselves and meeting new people which usually starts with us telling our names and asking theirs.

But for some odd reason, we tend to forget their name in just a few minutes and this shows in the conversation that follows. So, instead of saying things like, “So, John, do you like rock music?”, we often tend to say, “So, … (pause) … do you like rock music?”

At the same time we are thinking at the back of our minds, “Was his name John, or Oliver? Why do I always forget the name!! He probably noticed this and thinks I am dumb”

5. How To Position Your Body Parts

repair-man-3006596_1280.jpg

This one is a classic. When we are talking to someone we don’t know or are trying to set a good impression on, we often become very conscious about the way we are standing or sitting. So much so that we start thinking about the position of our hands or legs, or even the angle of the body while leaning on a counter or some other object.

It’s so cringy and amusing at the same time to see people do this. You can almost always notice this at a social gathering.


There are many more awkward things we do, which I’ll be talking about in the part II of this post. So, if you liked this one, stay tuned for the next one.

Sort:  

Good post brother you're do good job

Nice post Bhai helpful post... @sauravrungta

How is it helpful? It's a good post though, but dude at least read his post for real and not just comment, so you get upvoted... Keep it up sauravrungta! Love most of your posts :D haha

I feel I do all of them, but I never know how to possision the body parts the most :D

haha totally right man. He made the comment literally 1 minute after me posting it! haha

Yeah, I used to not know about positioning the body parts as well. Now I don't even care LOL

There are always people in this community commenting for just commenting.. Hopefully it is well understandable which comments are written with conscious and which are not like that one..

Genuine comments can be recognized from a mile away. So can the spams ;)

And how did he end up with 3 positive votes for that reply? Freaky!

I don't have a problem with knowing how to stand... but then after 10 minutes I realize that the way I'm standing is the way every book says "looks defensive and uncommunicative" and then I feel like I have to stand in the communicative, open, and extremely uncomfortable position to be polite and not to end up standing alone. Arrrgh!

This comment has received a 0.13 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @juborajmollah.

@sauravrungta, this is such a lovely post.

I was laughing all through like you are here in person telling me things i have been having issues with for years, i am so guilty of the five points mentioned.

I am so looking forward to the part two of this post.

Thank You

haha thanks for the kind words. I am glad you liked it. Yeah, these are things that most people will relate to. :D

You are welcome man

You made the comment literally 1 minute after my posting, which means you didn't even read the post.

As an introvert. . .I'm most guilty for number 4.... I do forget names, will now later ensure that I wont have to call the person's name....can be so embarrasing!

It really can! Especially when you are saving their number on your phone and have to ask again what their name was! lol

I use truecaller when im too embarrassed to ask sometimes...lol

LOL!! That is one option I guess.

Oh man I'm bad with names.I'll remember faces 15 years later,but names? 15 seconds later I forget lol

haha same with me. I walk in a party, get to know 10 people, then when I walk out, I hardly remember anyone's name!!

Well i really agree with you in all these awkward situations 😅😅

Especially the 2nd number because i face this situation many times and it's true that there are more awkward things we do and i love to see those in your next post @sauravrungta

hahaha I have been guilty of that many times too :D

I've felt it exstroverts. It was an experience for me

I don't understand you.

hahaha, really funny... this post took me back. The hugs and handshake thing still happens a lot. LOL...

Adding one more to the list :
What to say next when there is sudden quietness and finding yourself just staring the other person thinking what was the first thing we talked about specially when other person happens to be attractive :P

Dude, don't spoil the things that I am going to include in the Part II :P :P

Haha My bad :D
btw i made a post about your post: Change Makers #1: The story of Nikola Tesla and reward thing we talked about in the meet :P

i just found out that iam both types as person, it happens to me all the time i dont get it.

Growing up to be an introvert is completely unique. Shy, awkward, sometimes disliked, difficult to get along and more that makes introverts difficult. But, from the many shortcomings so introvert, there are also many advantages of introverts.
You are curious why there are personalities who like to be alone and do not like to socialize, not need to be confused again. This is actually the reason why introverts are always awkward. Rather than think they are weird, they seem unique for this reason.

.Introverts take time to establish a relationship or connection.
Introvert research first, then just talk.
.Introverts take time to think, just move.
.Introvert considers talking to a stranger the same as not carrying a weapon during a war.
.Introverts always assume that alone is more fun.
.Since introverts get used to themselves, he is not used to being around other people.
.Introverts find it difficult to process words so they will look stiff.

sorry if my words are wrong @sauravrungta
thank you for sharing the life story @sauravrungta

All true!! I can totally relate to that :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80