5 Ways To Make Life A Little Less Mundane

in #life8 years ago

Life can sometimes get into a repetitive cycle, through no fault of our own, where you’re doing the same things from the moment you wake up in the morning till you go to bed at night. I mean, we got to do what we got to do.



This can happen especially when you are in the prime of your life and you have to juggle between work and personal life. This can leave very little time for yourself and the stuff you would actually love to do.

Image Credits



The result is that you can get kind of bored with your life. That is common in us humans because historically, we have been more of an explorative species who seek adventure. 



Ergo, it is of prime importance that we incorporate some changes in our daily routines or we might end up like robots, doing the same things over and over. Let’s see what we can do.



1. Start Working Out

Image Source: Public Domain


This is something I have started doing only recently and let me tell you, it works! People used to tell me all the time that if we workout, we are more active and energetic throughout the day.



And, even though I knew the science behind it, somewhere in the back of my mind, I was like, “yeah, right!”. Turns out I was wrong and science wins again. Nowadays I really feel more active and ‘myself’ since I’ve started working out and it gives me something to look forward to everyday. 


It doesn’t even have to be too strenuous or time taking. Just take out half an hour from your schedule and you’ll notice the change yourself. And stop telling yourself that you are too busy, because I used to do that too and turns out, I am not!



2. Do Something Creative

Image Source: Public Domain


Again, we are an intelligent species and therefore, we long for creation and discovery. Doing the same tasks everyday that doesn’t make use of our inherent creativity can make us feel like we are missing out on something.



There are a lot of different ways you can do something creative. You could just draw something random, or make a painting, or play a guitar or write an article about your innermost thoughts. 



It boils down to what you want to do because we are all unique and have different abilities. So, make use of those abilities and start a hobby that you’d want to do everyday. It will surely make your days less boring and more productive and interesting. 



3. Cultivate Friendship

Image Source: Public Domain


I speak from experience when I say (type?) that it is easy to drift away from even your best friends after college and once you start working. In the pursuit of our dreams and aspirations, we sometimes tend to ignore some of the other important aspects of our lives.



Friends are one such aspect. They are our support system and people with whom we can share anything, whose mere presence is enough to lift your mood after a rather testing day. 



But, once you’ve settled into your life, it is worth revisiting and cultivating that friendship even though it may seem awkward at first. These days social media makes it really easy to do so and you can get back in touch with your buddies. It’ll surely knock down the boredom. 



4. Take Some Time Outs

Image Source: Public Domain


Everyone deserves a break from time to time. Even machines face wear and tear and we are only living, breathing beings. It is not surprising why we feel like taking breaks more often these days given how we are becoming more like robots which our bodies are simply not made for.



Therefore, it is very important that we ensure regular down time to let ourselves recharge. Weekends usually do the job but even then we seldom let ourselves rest. If anything, they are more consuming. No wonder Mondays are always the most hated.



We should take proper time outs and use this to reinvigorate ourselves. If you want, you could even take a mini vacation of sorts and travel to some place quiet which is healing for the body, mind and soul!


All of these changes, if introduced in your life, will not only help you make your life more adventurous but they will also have positive impact on your physical as well as mental health. This will be highly beneficial in the long run as you will be prevented from burning yourself out. Also, as the saying goes, you'll be adding more life to your days AND more days to your life as well.

Sort:  

Thanks for share this useful tips! ^_^
Best regards

I am glad you found this useful :)

I am going to try and do a little exercise plus try my hands at a few creative ideas :)

I have been doing all these for a week now and it has renewed my life in a way! Cheers! :)

I am glad to see its working, keep it up :)

nice post, yes i agree exercise IS VERY important, especially for this generation spending a lot of time behind screen !!! when body doesn't move enough, it's open a door to sickness....so shake it up , and steem !

You make a very good point! Cheers! :)

Exercise is one I always try to implement but somehow it always gets pushed to last on the list... Good thoughts and great post!

It was the same for me too (for the last 3 years, believe it or not). But this time I just didn't listen to the little red guy on the left shoulder ;)

what about the blue guy on the right shoulder?

He was the one who pushed me into finally doing it :D

I need to get me a blue guy... I seem to only have 2 reds... :)

Now you're just making stuff up. LOL :P

Oh man, can I relate to this. Get up at an ungodly hour, ride the train to work, do work, come home, sleep, get up and do it all over again... I'm starting to understand why some people go through mid-life crises.

You've given some good advice on how to break up the monotony. I find Steemit to be a great creative outlet, and am definitely happier since I started writing regularly. I admit the exercise part is something I've got to improve on. Right now my daily "exercise" is running up & down the escalators at train stations so I'm not late to work.

I can totally understand you. Being on the same routine daily is kind of my phobia. I absolutely hate it. I firmly believe that life is not meant to be lived like this.

Anyways, you're right Steemit can be a great source of escape from that reality and help one get in touch with his creative side. Hope your exercise can expand beyond running up and down the escalators ;) Cheers!

I firmly believe that life is not meant to be lived like this.

Same here. I'm willing to put up with it temporarily (got to pay the bills somehow, after all) but I'm actively looking for a way to escape the rat race. For me Steemit is one part of a wider cryptocurrency investing strategy that I hope will one day lead me to freedom.

Hope your exercise can expand beyond running up and down the escalators

Heh, maybe I'll start jogging from my desk to meeting rooms instead of walking.

That's a good idea ;) Before doing that, you might want to give a heads up to your colleagues. :D

Another way is learn something new though it can be related to do some creative but not necessarily.

Yes, I forgot to mention this in the post but glad you did it. Learning something new is always so exciting. There is something to look forward to the next day. Also, it expands your skill set, and that is always good. Cheers! :)

I think I need to take #4 to heart, I am basically always working in some capacity. I never give myself any time off.

I can't function without #4. My mind has an automatic off switch (thankfully) and so whenever it feels like I need a break, off goes the switch!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63422.01
ETH 2688.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58