Our Life on Planet Earth – Part 2: Who am I?

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Interest is the springboard to gain knowledge. 


If you deal with spirituality and spiritual topics for years , if you chose to fathom life and explore this enigma you’ll inevitably encounter many questions and of course – you’ll try to find answers. Probably one of the most common questions in this context is the basic question of existence: 'Who am I?'

Further questions will arise such as ‘Where do we come from?’, ‘Why are we here?‘ and ‘Where will we go?‘. We’ll take a look at it a later. Promised.

These are probably the essential questions, first and foremost 'Who am I?'. Here again it is very helpful to hear what different cultures have to say about it. On the journey to find an answer to this question you’ll be surprised to discover that most of them agree other than what one might expect. Let me repeat that: Most of them agree!

The more you do a profound research in different cultures, religions and philosophies the more you’ll discover similar, occasionally identical answers which is basically very reassuring and simultaneously encouraging. Why reassuring and encouraging? You don’t have to argue if most of them agree. You don’t have to argue about ‘Who is right’. You just have to drill deep in your own culture and contradictions will dissolve themselves. Actually pretty easy provided that there is an interest to do so.

One thing I’ve learned is: Don’t judge anything before you explored it. It’s easy to say ‘You’re wrong!‘, ‘I don’t believe that!’.

1st: Explore

2nd: Study and learn

3rd: Judge (if needed)

Don’t just judge something because of dogmatic beliefs.


One can say that the essence of everything around the question ‘Who am I?‘ is: ‚I am a spiritual being’.

This conclusion can be reached by a procedure of exclusion.

All you have to do is ask yourself the following: ‘What am I not?‘.

Something that is subject to change like the physical body can’t be ‘me’. I have a deeper perception of persistence and existence.

The ethereal energies, the ethereal body such as thinking, feeling, desire, they change and vary in such a fast rhythm that this can’t be ‘my‘ real identity. Goethe once said in his famous book ‘Egmont‘, 1775: ‘On top of the world, in the depths of despair‘. Sometimes the one, sometimes the other. But which of the two is ‘me‘? I’m not just this emotional body which goes through all those different vibrations and moods.

So if I am neither the material nor the ethereal body, what am I then? There has to be something else, an entity, a being which is independent from all the conversions in the outside (material body / physical body) and the inside (ethereal body), something which is unchangeable and always there.

Normally one says: ‘My body’. You don’t say ‘I body’. By this you express that it is a property. A residence of a temporary nature. We all know we have to ‘die‘ at some point so it is undoubtedly of a temporary nature.

You also say ‘My thoughts’. You don’t say ‘I thoughts‘. You don’t say ‘I feelings‘, no. You say ‘I have feelings’, ‘I have thoughts‘, I have a body.

Inevitably the question arises: Who is the ‘I‘? Who is the owner of the body? Who is this ‘I‘, who is allowed to use all of those things in the world and who is it to gather experiences?

There are different expressions for it: Soul, spirit, spiritual being, and so on, particular schools of thought have different expressions. One thing is important though: the insight or realization that there is something constant, something imperishable, something eternal, something immortal.

Something that survives the ‘death‘ and the ‘death of the body‘.

This being is ME. That’s ME. 


One could add: A godly being. Some people struggle with the term ‘God‘, just because it has been misused too often, as many other terms. Everything you can think of is done ‘in the name of God‘ whereby quite most of it can be called ungodly. That’s the problem and a reason why many have the fear of contact with the term ‘godly’.

But if we take a look at the root of the word itself, namely ‘good‘ (indo-germanic ‘goda‘) - the opposite of bad – you don’t need to have any reservations or fear of contacts with being ‘godly‘, precisely ‘good‘.

As a being your are something good, something that can do something good for yourself and for others in this world. ‘Godly‘ does not have a negative connotation. It is the opposite of negative.


In summary to the question ‘Who am I?‘ one can ultimately say:

A spiritual godly eternal being.

In a material body. For the moment.



After reading all of your wonderful and constructive comments on the previous post I’d like to say something. It applies to the previous post, this post and upcoming posts as well.

As you can see I didn’t mention a specific religion yet. I am detached from any religious beliefs out there. I was raised catholic but left church years ago. I wanted to be free, symbolically. I don’t judge anything anymore when it comes to religious beliefs. All we have is our free will to decide and I respect everyone’s belief. This is an objective view on all the things that surround us, daily, 24/7, 365 days/year, for a lifetime. I do have a belief, I do believe in god but I don’t need an institution to be able to live it.

I was driven by interest and discovered a gift: Life.

This is just my personal view. The previous post, this post and upcoming posts as well.  I think it’s very universal. Maybe someone shares the same views, may it be. Maybe someone shares a part of it, may it be. Maybe you disagree completely - So be it. That’s great. We’re all different, yet the same.


One last thing:

I had the chance to talk to a wonderful woman (clairvoyant) several times already. I met her on my spiritual journey and I must admit she had a huge impact on my life. The first thing she said to me when we met for the very first time was:

Please don’t believe anything I’m going to tell you.

I’d like to say the same to you.


What does it mean?

Please form your own opinion.

Your innermost will tell you if it’s right or not.

Basically we know everything already.

The veil of forgetfulness is put on us.


This is also the first time for me to talk about my view and belief in public (although it's quite impersonal) and it feels good :)

Thank you again for your attention and the time to read it.

See you for the next one.



Sort:  

On planet earth, it's either I am the Alien invader or the only human left after the Alien invasion

Great post, upvoted!

Thanks for a great post and your humble sharing, namaste :)

Thank you @eric-boucher! Have a great day, namaste :)

Great article..I am on a journey of knowledge seeking and have spent many years of research delving into to this subject and every time i fit a piece of the jigsaw puzzle together the puzzle gets bigger and more interesting. It all started for me in a dream of a big eye opening and the symbol Vesica piscis which sent me on a journey which blew my mind....I will save the details for an article :)

I believe this reality we have been born into is a like a video game that we have to complete levels to raise our vibration and consciousness and if we dont complete a level we are re-spawned to try again.

We are Hue-man beings of the Adamic (Atomic) construct that is a frequency generator and decoder. The "I AM" Presents (gift) allows you to tap into multi dimensions of information, when then you realise that you are everything around you and everything around you is part of you, changes occur (I am that, I am). The "I" ( pineal gland) shaped like a pine cone I believe is the connector between our physical and ethereal (e-the-real) bodies.

Thank you very much! Looking forward to reading your article about your dream @merlinscat. Sounds interesting!

Amazing. I am sooooo happy you have received so many UPVOTES. This is an important topic.. WHO AM I can discovered with inner reflection. You can step back and withdraw your focus, your eyes see but the visions ignored, your ears hear but noises dismissed, thoughts come and go, but they do not stick, yet you still exist, between thoughts.. When this way is fully absorbed, and it takes a while, everything changes. Life becomes fun and easy. You begin to accept ALL experiences as needed. You see life as perfect, and that difficulties arise for your benefit. Any belief about yourself as imperfect, stupid, or dirty is realized as being a false illusion. You are the undirty, unborn, eternal, having a human experience..

what's up with the comments? Does no reader read them? I mean the content(post) is great and has gotten 334 votes. As are the comments... seems as the voters are just voting just to vote and don't really read the post. when I say voters I mean mostly all. How do you vote for a post and not read the comments all comments are also great to read and continue the post in its own way, like an extension, I think we all need to take steemit more as a community to spread great content and not worry so much about money.... it will build the community we are building better! If you read the post and vote on the post at least read the comments... again its part of the article, blog, post it builds character. I posted this in another popular post, to spread the word.

One thing I knew is that we were created to serve God.

We know nothing.
But who told you that?

The word of God that can be found in the Bible.

The word of God is everywhere, you only need to decode the message in your heart.

We are not created to serve God, it's totally the opposit. We are created to worship God and in the other hand, he bless us from his reign you can see arround you and observe that God is everywhere giving us the most precious things and making with the human being the leader of the univers. We must see the deep side ;)

To serve and worship God.

Serve isn't worship .. when you worship you deserve a price but when you serve you are a slave. I'm muslim and I think good of God.

If God is capable to create us with this infinite universe why he would consider us as slaves ?

I have had the thought of who am i, i mean , what really makes me ...ME? What give me my conscious thought? What happens when I die? Great post, makes me really think about my existance here on this planet.

Thank you @vh770, happy to see it motivates you to think about a couple of things :)

We are created for a reason and that is to walk in the light of God.

Thank you for putting your thoughts in the post. As we see the world in the current perspective, I feel spirituality is important in whatever form it shows up. I will definately follow you and keep reading your thoughts. The more of us, the merrier.

Hi @linzo, thank you!:)

This post has a fresh-cool-laiden grade level of The Who with and reading please of Braille. This puts the Tommy Can You Hear Me level on a par with Who's On First and Abbott and Costello.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70