So that We May Live- °Sickness° and ~Motherhood

in #life7 years ago (edited)

20170521_104648.jpg

Lake adventures with my toddler!

I have been going through a vast amount of health issues this winter, which culminated with me finding a new doctor a couple of months ago who takes a more whole-system approach to diagnosis.

My treatment has been detailed, difficult, and amazingly effective. Perhpas not a typical intense therapy in the "take a bunch of drugs" sense- his instructions were really quite simple.

For Three Weeks after my first visit:

Stop eating Gluten.

Stop eating Dairy.

Well, those weeks included Memorial Day Weekend AND a trip up to Keystone! Which together both included the entirety of my partner's extended family. So, gluten, dairy, refined-sugarless diet was... A challenge, to say the least.

After those first few weeks, I went back into the doctors' to go over my full blood panel test results. Because of eating terribly for years, I was insulin resistant. Because of severe chronic stress levels my T3 had nearly all become Reverse T3, making me functionally hypothyroid. Platelettes were sky high, fasting glucose was unacceptable. It was time to make a change.

20170605_132543_HDR.jpg

Packing for Keystone!

That first visit was a month and a half ago. I am continuing the gluten and dairy free diet, with added treatments as well. Lots of dietary supplements to get me back in range (B6, B12, Vitamin D), and with orders to increase activity levels and reduce stress.

Activity levels? Check. After all, it's the official start of summer! The time of year I love life because I am soaking up copious amounts of Vitamin D from the sun, consequently bolstering my immune system and making me feel better overall. Best time of the year! Plus, I have a toddler to show the world to.

20170603_120032.jpg

Stress is the clincher. How do you reduce stress when every time you relax your mind decides to torture you with the worst memories it can dredge up? How to you move on and get healthy when behind your eyelids rage every monster of your past you thought you'd defeated? I've realized that this process is truly holistic in the sense that now that I am healing my body, my mind is one and the same- and to reduce stress I must heal it, too.

20170531_134546_HDR.jpg

°°°°°°°___°

PicsArt_05-10-10.30.07.png

Follow: @sardonyxnumismat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53622.13
ETH 2208.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29