I'm On A Train That Hit A Car - Please Send Prayers!

in #life7 years ago

Right now I'm on a train from Texas to Oklahoma, and it hit a vehicle on the tracks at a crossing.

There are conflicting reports as to whether there are fatalities. Amtrak announced that there was "an incident", then they admitted a vehicle collision...They have also been sure to tell us that the cafe remains open.

I was calling my mom when it happened, and they were blowing the horn so loud as we approached the intersection that I couldn't tell if she had picked up the phone. We hit right as she said "hello", and I was too confused to feign conversation. 

The jolt of impact felt similar to riding in a car where the transmission doesn't shift smoothly. It was relatively mild, perhaps even unremarkable...then I saw debris and flames out my window. It smelled like burning rubber and gas, and it took hundreds of feet to come to a complete stop.

We have been stopped outside of Davis, OK for almost 3 hours while police and firemen investigate. 



I can't see the front of the train, and they aren't letting passengers off. I could see the emergency vehicles that pulled up alongside the train, but now they have either pulled so far forward that I can't see them, left, or turned off their lights - the sun has set, and we're out by an empty field, and I can't see anything in this blackness. 

There was no ambulance, and the responders didn't seem to have much hustle on, so it suggests there was no one to tend to on the quick mode. As I say, I can't see the front from my seat, but I really really really hope anyone in the vehicle had a chance to bail before impact...however, circumstances don't look so good for that. There was another train passing at this crossing, headed the opposite direction from us on a track closest to the waiting traffic; it appears that maybe the driver took off as soon as that train passed without even realizing there was a second train. 

 All train passengers are fine (honestly, my mom freaked out the hardest).


Please join me in sending love and light and prayers and blessings to anyone in that car as well as their families, and I encourage you to appreciate your loved ones - life is so precious!



The train ride was actually pretty cool...until it wasn't.


For most of my life, I had a fear of stalling on railroad tracks and being hit by a train...Thankfully, a) I'm alive and b) this train has wifi so we can all be together.








💛 Sara!

Sort:  

God bless you.

God bless you too @taspingo! May we share the blessings with those in pain and grief 💛

May we share the blessings with those who suffer of any unexpected situation.

Wow, I am glad you are safe and my prayers to anyone else involved. Odd that the media doesn't seem to be covering it. Maybe nobody was hurt.

Thank you @whatsup! I'm honestly not too surprised the media in Oklahoma isn't covering it because it's still under investigation (we're still sitting here waiting), plus the OKC Thunder are apparently playing the Houston Rockets tonight, and many Oklahomans value basketball over life...

Don deal.

You know what I was hit by and my life was changed so this hit home for me.... literally no pun intended, this stuff really has always bothered me.

I think it is nice you posted this Sara. I was thinking of you a lot the last week, I hope you are doing OK.

Thank you, Barry! I am relatively well, just waiting here on a train right now...I always send you love and light and wish the most powerful healing for you! I often say a little prayer for you to include you in any Reiki I give 🙏

Aw man, that is so nice of you Miss Sara.

Hugs. And Thanks.

I don't send prayers per se. But love; and the minds of of the people who made sure people were okay.
Yes to appreciate life, especially your own, I may have more of that than most at this point.

Your love and support is appreciated! 💛

Just hope everyone there is OK.

Thank you @ace108! The news reports the driver of the van was killed. No one on the train was injured. Our train got moving after 5 hours or so.

You're welcome. It's sad but let's hope they find something so can prevent such occurrence again.

UPDATE: News reports one fatality.
http://www.kten.com/story/35215139/train-car-collide-in-davis

We backed up several miles to switch tracks because the vehicle was stuck on the first set of tracks. When we passed, it was so mangled that I couldn't tell what kind of vehicle it had been (news reports it was an Oklahoma Blood Institute van).

We started moving again around 1 am, and I made it to my destination by 2 am.

Thank you for your support!!! What an experience...

So glad you are well and with your other loved ones. Sending lots of love and light to all those impacted by this incident. Thanks for the update and for all your healing energy sent to the world @saramiller!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64359.49
ETH 2619.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83