Food that promises you wealth in the upcoming year

in #life7 years ago

As you‘ve seen on my first #introduceyourself post, I‘ve got chinese roots but I grew up in Austrian culture and don‘t know much about chinese traditions. Cause it‘s the chinese new year, I decided to explore more of my origin and it‘s rituals. I roughly scratched the top of the traditional to-do‘s but it was fun to implement the one or the other thing. 🎎

So it‘s the year of the dog! (I adore dogs!!) The change of the chinese year always falls onto a new moon between 21st of january until 21st of february. It‘s actually the most important traditional holiday in chinese culture - a shame that I know so little about it.

I read about the different food specifics and decided to have some dumplings with my friend for dinner - it‘s supposed to be a lucky food (and omg, I love dumplings! 🥟🤤) and stands for wealth - not that I‘m a material girl (I am 🤭) but it seemed to be a winwin situation.

82ACAF22-4B59-45D3-A7AC-61948FF85EC4.jpeg
Yummy dumplings in a chinese restaurant in Bregenz, Austria

The dresscode for the new years festivity is supposed to be red (color of luck) - I‘m not a fan of wearing red at all, but I‘ll put on red lipstick.

It would be fun to celebrate this holiday next year more thoroughly with others, cause it‘s not very common where I live. Good intentions for next year, i guess 😉

Sort:  

Congratulations @sarahsoh! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @sarahsoh! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57393.77
ETH 2439.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33