You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Almost Quit Steemit

in #life8 years ago

Thank you for sharing your story. I totally understand. I attempted suicide as a teen as well. I'm currently grieving the loss of my pet. Here is what helped me: At the end of each day, write down 3 things that went well for you today. For example, maybe you made it through the day without crying. Or maybe you saw a cute squirrel outside. Maybe you had a phone call with a friend. Shifting your mind from sadness to gratitude takes discipline but it is possible. Studies show people improved their happiness by over 30% with that tip.

Speaking of outside, going outside in nature will help you tremendously. Get moving. Go for a walk in the sunshine. Take some vitamin D. Log off of your computer and sit under a tree. This will ground you. Watch animals or bugs or anything outside to focus on something outside of yourself.
An article in Scientific American says that the act of smiling (even a fake one) will make you happier. Please read it.

Lastly, the way you move and stand and carry yourself makes a huge difference in terms of mood and depression. Try some power poses. They are free, fast and proven to work. Here is an article . about power poses. If you want me to send you a video showing you how to do power poses, I will happily do that. Please take care of yourself. I hope you follow my advice.

Sort:  

I'm so sorry. Losing a pet can be so hard. :(
And yeah, I need to start doing little thing to try and help myself feel better. It's just hard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48