Why study an Arts & Humanities degree?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

hats.jpeg

TOPIC CHALLENGE DAY 4- Arts and Humanities

DAY 1 - Well being

DAY 2- Philosophy

Why would you? I mean it's not a 'proper' degree is it? 

I have heard it all. The arts are more soft cell, cultural and more philosophical in nature, without a strong, sturdy career path ahead.

That may have been true...30 years ago.

As this is my second degree course in the 'Arts' field, I feel I understand how the perception of the arts have changed over the years. I find it more fascinating this time around because I haven't the pressure of needing to pass to get my 'career' started. This time I am doing it to enhance my writing passion and today there is more opportunities for the creatives.

What does an Arts and Humanities degree involve?

I am in my second year (Part 2 of 1st year as part time) and I have read through a variety of subjects, as in year one they give you the opportunity to explore all subjects. Including:

  • Religious Studies
  • History
  • Philosophy
  • Language (eg: French, German, Spanish and Latin
  • Creative Writing
  • Classical Studies
  • Music 
  • Law 
  • English lit/language
  • Media & Film

The interesting part of studying a degree like this, is that you find yourself developing interests in subjects that you never thought you would be interested in. I found this with religious studies. 

Today, this degree could lead to a variety of professions and great for the creative entrepreneur! 

It is also good for the educators, who wouldn't want to teach this stuff?

Thoughts?

Sort:  

On reason I 100% believe in studying Arts & Humanities is because it expands the mind. I grew up in a city, went to college (studied arts & humanities) and graduated, traveled (also mind expanding) and now have settled into a small midwestern town.

a lot of these people think the same way as their parents' parents' parents' (not quite, but you get the drift). learning to think critically and write well creates engaged citizens who don't vote for trump. lol had to go there with that one!!

Great answer!! I certainly helps to 'think outside the box' What is your art passion now, has it changed? I love to travel, and I love to write, but I have also started to appreciate Art more. I am going to check out your blog page now.

that's awesome that you still have a passion for art!

yes i think i have changed over the years, informed by my studies and travels... my passion now is creating art in relation with landscapes. practical art like buildings, trellises for grape vines, roses, berries, etc... it's a different type of art, but i am certainly in a "practical art" phase ;) haha thanks for stopping by my blog,too.

Thanks a lot for sharing your valuable post....
Carry on next
Best of luck..
I will still wait for your next post....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67692.69
ETH 3797.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51