You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Confessions of a convicted human trafficker....

in #life8 years ago

Everyone has a past. How you deal with it defines you. You have been brave and honest in your blog. Don't let your past define who you are today. I certainly am not judging you, your parents aren't or the other person who has commented. That's a good handful of decent human beings!

Sort:  

You are right, thank you again for the encouraging words.

I agree with @sarahewaring. Everyone does have a past. I'm glad you feel better after getting it off your chest. Keep going putting one foot in front of the other.....and soon you'll be far from your past. It doesn't define you. You can learn from it but don't let it keep you from moving forward.

Thank you. It is a very challenging thing to do. The hurdles one must jump after a mistake like this is very hard in today society. Again steemit has completely surprised me with the comments given here. I wasn't to know what to expect really. After the backlash I have had looking for work, to lose friends and distancing from others since all this has left me in a weird feeling of limbo. It is hard to know how to come out of it.

The other difficulty is when people say "it doesn't bother me" and then proceed to treat me differently as they would treat others.

Shame is what I think you are carrying - meaning "I am bad" . You aren't bad. You had a tough go and made some poor choices–we all have to one degree or another, but now you are trying to get yourself together in a more positive way. Our society is full of compassionate people and those who hold stigmas towards things they disagree with or uncomfortable with. I think we all know people who say one thing and do another - and really, it's a good thing when that happens. It tells you whose good for you and who isn't.
Remind yourself that you will be okay. It might take longer than you want or it might happen sooner. Just be okay and content with each step. We are here in this community at any rate.

Most people on here are telling you the same thing in so many words. You can do it. I won't be easy. Life is difficult and it is good. Hold your head up. Do good. Do well. Know you are worthwhile. Keep those close who listen and understand. Make others earn your trust.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55214.91
ETH 2471.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24