Be Kind Always-A message from the heart

in #life7 years ago (edited)

When you spend hours with a loved one, away from technology it makes you realise a number of things in reflection.

Too much time is spent watching TV and on the net
Main topics of conversation are about food, money and housekeeping
The above is your life as you know it

Well this is always how I feel when I have been having time away with my husband, family or friends ( without technology). I say this as I am sat typing away on a social media platform.

My point is this. Today I had a rant to my hubby as he patiently drove. He had no way of escape. My rant was about how third world countries suffer and how unfair the world is. We talked about how we think we got it bad, but how relative things are compared to other humans and animals that suffer on a daily basis. I realise how lucky I am.

I'm telling you something about me now...not for sympathy ( even though that's nice) but for empathy to others that want to, have done or currently are overcoming their inner demons.

By the age of 19 I had 2 babies, and was agrophobic suffering chronically with panic attacks and IBS. Life was tough. Pre children ( between 14and 16) I had been pretty much high on anything I could get my hands on and I went into an abusive relationship at 15 and never got any GCSE's as I couldn't have cared less about school. I had some trauma growing up, it was to be expected I was told. My counsellor back then said having anxiety was actually a reflection on my good character as I cared so much, I always remember that .....as I do.

Being 19 is significant because I left that relationship then went to college then university and even though I was struggling over that time with agrophobia I managed four years of study. I did it. I even remember how wonderful my tutor and classmates were at uni, taking the whole class outside for me to do a presentation as I was having on a particular agrophobic day.

Being a mother made me who I am today and from the day I found I was pregnant at 16 I focused on being a better person. My children are amazing, I made mistakes bringing them up, but in fairness no one is perfect, things I could have done better I suppose but I was very young and on my own, and they never say I'm rubbish which I think is a good thing. They are verysuccessful and I am so proud.

My friends say I'm always happy and upbeat, and I am but it's taken awhile to be happy, and I did wear a mask for a long time. I still have the occasional off day.

Being a better person to me means being kind always, especially to yourself, never forget your past as it shapes your future and never forget that other people have their own struggles. They may just be invisible to the outside world.

Oh and most importantly to be externally grateful that I have the opportunity to enjoy my life as others may not have been given the chance to do so like I have.

Sort:  

Great post... and a nice reminder for us all to pause and think about life around us. Gratitude matters!

It's funny how virtual space can serve to both bring us closer and together, as well as separate us... all at the same time. In the end, the important thing (for me) is to find balance.

Well said @denmarkguy I love blogging on here....love it. It takes me away from faceache....I mean... Facebook and helps me be constructive, but I do it only if it doesn't take time from my family. Tonight my husband is watching football so this is me time :-) but yes balance is key!

Good post - you've taken your own life back and turned it around, and that means a lot. I empathize with you, as I had a pretty horrific childhood and needed years of counseling just to become a survivor rather than a 'victim'. But it can be done - with a lot of hard work. The most difficult part for me was to realize my own value - to be kind to myself. To treat myself with the same compassion I've always given to others, and to feel worthy of that. I admire you and what you've achieved.

Thank you so much. Valuing one's elf takes decades of practice and if i inspire others i'm giving back. You are like me, lets continue to share the love in a difficult world :-)

Absolutely!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97