Paula Abdul said, "Express yourself"

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I posted this in my private journal back in 2010 and somehow I feel it still applies... Human nature, I guess...

It is a common behaviour for people to just keep what they really think to themselves but at the same time, because they are bothered by it, they affect the people around them. I, too, do this at times, but I am trying to learn to express myself more when it comes to things that bother me. If it doesn't bother me then I can't be bothered to waste my time and energy to even entertain the issue.

As the eldest in the family and as a manager managing multiple projects involving multiple vendors / consultants / biz users / IT team members, I sometimes wish that I could read the minds of people around me. This is because at times, I can feel that there's something bothering the person but he/she just does not want to tell. There are times when I actually ask whether there is anything wrong or not, and the most common answers are like "everything is fine" or "tell you later". Opportunities given to express themselves but not taken, what the hell?!!!

I wish that I could have the telepathy power that Jean Grey has (having the looks and body wouldn't hurt either) 😉😜

image

image

But yeah, if only we could read each others' minds or people could simply start to just tell what they exactly feel, then open the situation for discussion, I think that a lot of issues could have been resolved and the World would be a much better place.

Telling someone on what is bothering you may not be as easy but with the right tone and words, we can always tell someone that we are hurt or offended by them. It bothers me when someone bottles up everything and later blow up and bring things that I can't even remember doing/saying. Why don't they just say it there and then when things are still fresh? Compose an email or a letter if can't voice out and if ask, please just tell... Rather than finding out from someone else or beating round the bush, I would rather hear it from the source itself, in a straight forward manner. I just can't understand how can someone bottle up something that is bothering her/him for so long - so stressful to live life that way, right? Just inhale and exhale, compose yourself and tell what's bothering you - less heartache and less stress. Believe me, you will feel much better after telling - with calmness to express what's bothering you, hopefully the other side will listen better. I guess how the other person takes it, is another thing, as long as it is out of your chest without blowing up, you will feel better as the issue is now out in the open...

At the end of the day, a person doesn't have to be a bitch or an ass when he/she tells the truth, right? Be tactful and the other person will be able to take the comments / criticisms better. Then, solve the issues like adults and close the issue... Forgive and forget... Life is too short to be spent with stress and heartaches.

What say you, fellow Steemians?

Sort:  

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Tq for the support @steemdunk
😊

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Love TeamMalaysia! :-)

.. a warm welcome to steemit @sandralouis .. and great to have you on board teammalaysia

am happy to finally be in steemit too...

Thanks for the welcome :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56560.74
ETH 2390.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34