Crypto-granny: One is never too old to take on something new!

in #life7 years ago

mum.jpg

My lovely dear sweet mother is in her seventies now. She grew up in the days when television was for the rich & privileged only.

Radio was where it was at back then!

Yet today she has shown me that it is never too late in life to learn something new.

A few weeks ago she came to visit me here in Bali at the Taman Petanu Eco Neighbourhood, mostly to say hello to my new addition to the family, Luna who is now 5 weeks old. But also because it has been over a year since our last encounter.

As a dedicated traveller my poor mother has to come to me these days if she wants to see her grandchildren. But I am most grateful that she does :)

ASWD final banner v2.jpg

It didn't take long for her to notice my new found enthusiasm for cryptocurrency (brought on by my current obsession with Steemit) and my strong emotional attachment to my FB group, Aspiring Steemit Whales & Dolphins.

Consequently she asked me if I could set up a bitcoin wallet on her ipad.

Needless to say this was something I was very happy to do.

rice .jpg
This a view from one of our walks in Tegalalang.

The Crypto-Granny!

Before she arrived here 10 days ago she knew absolutely nothing about cryptocurrency.

So I was really impressed at how quickly she grasped the mechanics of this monetary revolution and also at her willingness to embrace something so different to the system she has been living with for over 70 years.

She requested too an app which permitted her to watch the value of Bitcoin and other top currencies. For it is her intention, once she sees some profit being made from the £100 worth of Bitcoin I gave her, to move some into Dash & other fast movers.

She used to have stocks in Hanson (a minerals company) and as a child I would check her stock value in the financial times newspaper. It always made me feel good when I could see her stocks increasing in value. She no longer does has these stocks and I felt as if she kinda misses it now that she has retired and put all her money into the development of her dream house in Norwich, UK.

So, now she can enjoy the ride of watching her Bitcoin... and I hope in time she will be watching her investments in many more cryptocurrencies too!

Happy days for my mum!

Also, happy days for me... because I needed some cash and she was more than happy to hand it over in exchange for the £100 worth of Bitcoin.

Win win for everyone!

And such is the joy of Bitcoin.

Onward and Upward we go...

TP steem pic.jpg

Sort:  

Many thanks. Yeah, it's really great to see my mother get excited about this :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.71 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 12 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Granny needs something with a bit more zing, Bitcoin doesn't go up 30% in a day anymore. We're quite sure she'd love a PIVX wallet and some PIVX, also PIVX works in NORWICH, infact it works all over the UK. Great post, we'll be following for more.

Thanks for the tip. I will look into this now :)

Is there a PIVX wallet download for macs?

Beautiful post! Thank you for sharing.

Thanks. It's my pleasure to share posts like this one :)

That's marvelous! Nice to see someone from your mum's generation be enthusiastic about this new world we're creating.

You know it! It's really great to see. I feel a certain sense of pride right now :)

But you didn't make a Steemit account for her ?

I suggested the idea but she said it sounded too complicated. I won't give up trying though :)

Perhaps she can send me what she wants to say and I will do the posting and post-promotion for her. Could be fun!

What a wonderful mom! Good health to her.

Thanks very much. She saw your words here and was very appreciative :)

You're welcome

I feel like your Mom but unfortunately there is nobody around to teach me. I am reading since weeks. I finally opened poloniex account and a Dash Wallet as well as an open ledger account to get my trail token. I am really overwhelmed right now and need to take it slow. In the year 2000 I didn't even know what an email was and got my first laptop in the year 2002.....

Well then, I think you are doing very well indeed on your own. Teaching Yaari was ...hmmmm... how do I put it? Impossible! He understood very little of what I explained and I can see that he isn't posting now that I am not there to help him any more. So, stick with it as you are. Persistence will see you through.

And you only have to ask if there is anything I can help you with :)

Im having a blast and now I really need to learn how to trade a little bit. I don't even know how to transfer my steam to my exodus wallet yet . haha

Everything goes through Bitcoin when it goes from one currency to another, so you must send your steem to a site like poloniex where you can then exchange it for Bitcoin. Once you have Bitcoin you can use your Exodus Wallet Bitcoin address to transfer it there. Check this video for a detailed explanation:

Wow ! I really appreciate your advice ! Thanks so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00