The train is rolling again.

in #life6 years ago


It's Sunday, Orsi is out of house - unexpected work. And I'm sitting on the front porch, starting a new project.

Since I've sent out the manuscript of my new novel, I have to admit, I felt a bit empty. Imagine, over a period of almost 7 months, you spend every single day writing that one story. And then, from one day to another - boom - it's gone.

Before I realised, I've built some kind of a relationship with the characters and the story itself. And when they were gone it almost felt like I was missing something.

This past 2 weeks I've spent by basically reading books, comforting myself that it was a well deserved holiday. However, after a few days - I was bored or maybe better: Somehow purposeless.

Today, I just couldn't stand it much longer and I started a new book.

It feels good to have a project and perhaps "doing something", is the medicine for my soul. As long as I create something even if it feels hard sometimes. It's such a great feeling to go to bed in the evening and say: I did my best today.

My conclusion: Holiday is great. For a while. But life-long holiday would perhaps suck the life out of my skin. As long as I create something I feel this sense of "yeah, I'm functioning somehow!"

On days where I'm in a slump, meaning; when I don't feel like doing anything I notice the same. I often don't feel that great on those "lazy days". And it's often the greatest burden to just start something. Like a train that hadn't been rolling for a while. But once found just a little motion, once made just a little step, and then another one, and another one the momentum often becomes too powerful to resist.

So, with that said - 🙂 It's Sunday. And I'm on the train again. 😉

Sam



This post is originally published on my blog: samryter.com/blog
I, Sam Ryter (@sams-world) am the author and creator of this piece of content.
(Copyright @sams-world, samryter.com)

Thank you for reading :)


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://samryter.com/the-train-is-rolling-again/

Sort:  

Congratulations @sams-world! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great start on your new book!:) Holidays are good. I agree on lazy days will make you lazier~~haha. All the best for your manuscript!

Keep the momentum while you have it. That way when you have a 'lazy' day it's ok because you're staying balanced with what you love to do and need to do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23