Protecting Our Children

in #life6 years ago

This is life. Protecting our kids, as a community, nation, world. As a mother, I find it important to share information as I come across it. Being a part of an amazing group out of Knoxville TN, @dsj, they have helped open my eyes to the dangers our children face, without even knowing it. There are so many apps, games, etc, that are being used to get access to our children. Whether it's just pictures, live videos, or actually obtaining their location.

42275850_342775943126127_6778627547610480640_n.jpg

Now this is just a few of MANY apps out there that predators are using, but it gives you a general idea of what to look out for. The stories I've heard about some of these apps will give one nightmares, especially if you are a parent. Please, watch over your children. If they have a phone, tablet, computer, etc, watch what they do. Check out what apps they are on and please, teach them what stuff is inappropriate to tell a stranger.

d66ae37d46e00a1ecacfe9531986690a.jpg

This is another popular game that you can access on a tablet, computer, even xbox. As a parent to a child that has been on there I can say first hand that there are many....pervs on there, for lack of a better word. The comments that come through the chat are explicitly inappropriate and there are people on there that will portray themselves as a child and attempt to get information from your child. I admit, I have allowed my son to keep playing but we have a strict no chatting rule unless it's a family member that I have personally approved and verified to be family.

fortnite-hero - edited.jpg

Ah, Fortnite. One of the more popular games at the moment. Not much has been reported about Fortnite, but the reports are there. You enter a game, playing with random people. Now this is one, that once again, my son does play. Being xbox, we all know it is NOT just kids.

No_Excuse.JPG

I had my own personal experience of abusive situations as a teen, both physical and sexual. Even though I was 18 at the time, I was assaulted by a couple after being drugged. When I was a younger child, I had someone try and pick me up while walking to a friends house. I had a man, when I was 5, touch me inappropriately in the doorbell isle at home depot. We all have stories, and none of us want to see our children have the same stories. Whether you are a parent or not, you can make a difference by helping keep kids safe.

This is the blunt of what I have come across for now and if I need to add more at a later time, I will. If you know of anything that should be added, please leave a comment and let me know.

Sort:  

Very well said, Miss Sam. And I'm sorry you've experienced such horror in your life. Thank you for all you do to protect the children!!

Thank you, dear. I don't see it has bad memories though. I see it as a part of me that led me to where I am. Everyone that follows, shares, etc, if a part of the solution and we all very much appreciate you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49