The beauty of speaking less and listening more.

in #life6 years ago

Jumping in before someone completes what he/she is saying is one of the common traits we people have. We sometimes interrupt people when we get uncomfortable with what they are saying, reply immediately they end what they are saying, and even get worse than this just to ensure our point of view is supported. This habit can be a huge hindrance in learning and acquiring useful information that is capable of helping or building us.

getty_138710659_970647970450011_71281.jpg
credit

The two ears and a single mouth on our heads shows that we are built to do more of the listening than talking. Though it feels like a race to pass on what is on your mind before the chance gets away, we need to understand that it doesn't make it any different when we say it later or the next day. Probably it will give you a chance to reflect on it and express it better.

To be a good listener opens you to a variety of opportunities in life. It grants you more knowledge than what your letting out whether it's during an argument or trying to convince someone. This information can help you to give a clever response at the right time something that will win you audience easily the next time you speak.
Let's not forget how someone feels treasured when he/she is being listened to. This skill will win you people's hearts and favors which might be a big step in your next stop at success.

Sort:  

So true. When I'm really enthusiastic, I sometimes catch myself jumping in and cutting someone off. It happens in heated conversations too. I try to catch myself and let the other person speak, but sometimes, it's just a sign that I'm really into the conversation, and it happens in a way that isn't so much of an interruption but an "uhu, uhuh, and, yeah..and.." okay now I'm jumping in type of thing ;)

But I get what you mean. There are conversations when I take point to be self-conscious and listen more intently, especially when the person has something difficult to say. Talking with my Asperger's brother makes me practice this as it takes him a long time to say something.

It's more challenging when others are cutting me off and not letting me speak. When that happens, I tend to cut them off too. And then they get upset that I cut them off. So I let them go on for a while. Then they ask me a question, I start answering, and they cut me off.

I don't hang out with people like that anymore, but sometimes it will happen with a family member.

Listening and understanding what someone is trying to express can help develop strong bonds between people when both are putting in that effort.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

True, having good listening skills leads to great success:))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73