Go hug your parents!!

in #life6 years ago

I decided to write something about being a parent. I have been a mum for over a year and I wanted to share a tiny bit of my experience with you wonderful steemians.

This is a transcript from one of the letters I wrote to my son:

"I remember sitting on my mother's lap, on one of the very few moments of affection we shared. She told me she loved me more than I could understand, and even though I didn't quite know what she meant, I believed her. My mum was never too affectionate, and sweet words or cuddles were hard to come by; but I never doubted her love. A love that, just like she said, I didn't understand until you were placed in my arms.

The love of a mother for her child is so raw and powerful, it defies anything you thought you knew about anything. It makes you want to change yourself and the whole world. So you should know now that whatever happens to me, to you or to the world; and whatever you do, whoever you become - I will love you more than you can imagine. Always."

DQmfKuQL5jPBHqageP2HQixVgqNTQdLkHMg1B9bG3v8pAH4.jpg

Most of us have been blessed with loving parents. They made mistakes, failed sometimes, but they loved us!

Many people, me included, blame their parents for a lot of their issues. My mum was a sole parent, and there are so many things I wished she would have done differently, so many words I wished she would have said, or not said!
But now that I'm a mother, I am terrified that my son will think the same one day; that some things I do now, unwillingly, will affect his personality in a negative way.

None of us know how to be the perfect parent. There is no school for it, no steps to follow. And yet we have the power to shape the mind of another human being; and we're doing it in the dark. The advice we get, the books we read, are all contradictory. One may tell you to do one think and another, completely the opposite! Everyday I worry whether my son has everything he needs to thrive, whether I do enough to help him grow into a strong, happy human!

DQmRt6VffHm7whRUfjsGApzoA5RNCeHmpauNttW2bF3319c_1680x8400.jpg

The truth is, we all just do what we think it's best. Many of us succeed and raise our kids well, and they grow into healthy, strong people capable to succeed in life. Sometimes we go wrong and hurt our children, and the guilt of knowing you've done that can be unbearable.

Give your parents a call, visit them, take them out to lunch! If they hurt you, or not raised you they way they should have, try to forgive them! Maybe they were too tired, stressed, overworked; maybe they followed the wrong advice. Whatever the case, they loved, and they LOVE you!

So go hug your parents! :)

Thank you for reading and I hope you found this post useful.

Until next time, Steem on!

Sort:  

This is the most positive thing I've read all day! Thank you for this article, and I hope that more people will appreciate their parents, because where would we be if parents didn't exist!? :) Much love.

Very good! Nice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60813.09
ETH 3389.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52