This is what Jesus said to me today and now I'm confused.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

I’m sitting at my desk and just finished reading todays Gospel. I’m confused.
bear-2203644_960_720.jpg
I thought, “wow, Jesus woke up on the wrong side of the bed today and clearly needs another retreat or better coffee. He sounds like one of those cranky old men who always proclaims the new generation coming up sucks.”
grumpy-old-man.jpg

I then decided to read what was said before & after today's reading to get a better feel and hopefully put today's reading in context.
child-945422__340.jpg

Nope, I’m still confused about today's reading.
confused-880735__340.jpg

Maybe it’s one of those inside things, "you have to be there to get it.”

What on Earth is Jesus saying?
Why did the church pick this reading for today?
Maybe one of you have better insight.

Todays reading


http://www.usccb.org/bible/readings/022118.cfm
Luke 11:29-32
While still more people gathered in the crowd, Jesus said to them,
“This generation is an evil generation;
it seeks a sign, but no sign will be given it,
except the sign of Jonah.
Just as Jonah became a sign to the Ninevites,
so will the Son of Man be to this generation.
At the judgment
the queen of the south will rise with the men of this generation
and she will condemn them,
because she came from the ends of the earth
to hear the wisdom of Solomon,
and there is something greater than Solomon here.
At the judgment the men of Nineveh will arise with this generation
and condemn it,
because at the preaching of Jonah they repented,
and there is something greater than Jonah here.”

learn-528391__340.jpg

I just came across this right before I posted. Maybe this helps, maybe.

• Jesus tells it as it is. When ‘the crowds were increasing’ he challenged them to ask themselves why they were coming to see and listen to him. Why do I come to Sacred Space each day?

• ‘Something greater is here.’ He challenges the crowd to consider the question he put to his apostles – ‘Who do you think I am?’ He asks us the same question.

I found this here: http://www.sacredspace.ie/scripture/luke-1129-32-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59529.60
ETH 2657.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41