The Gift of Life: My First Time Donating Blood

in #life7 years ago

Hello Friends

Today i would like to share my experience on how i donated my blood first time.

I was bit scared as i was afraid of hospitals and their stinky smell.It makes me uncomfortable but still i decide i should be a part of a noble cause and i should share my experience with my steemit friends.

Whatever you do, don’t look at the needle although i am brave....lol...

Preparing to Donate Blood

I made plans to donate blood with my mom and my friend . We went to the Red Cross because they allow people who weigh as little as 110 pounds to donate blood. At Community Blood Center of the Carolinas, they require that you’re 120 pounds.

I was nervous about donating but felt good that I was going to be alongside two veteran blood donors (my mom and my friend chris) who could offer guidance/encouragement and a newbie like me who could offer mutual support

Well, God had other plans.

By the time I got there at 11:40 a.m., my mom had already donated blood because she didn’t have time to wait.

My mom is a beast! Donated blood in 7 minutes 47 seconds. I was so amazed to see that...thats what i call women power..haha

Then my idiot friend had to drop out because he had some kind of stomach virus the day before and the staff said he probably shouldn’t donate blood in his condition.He is such an idiot...and i would like to tell you he was dumped by a girl...and i was making fun of me at that time

I was already starting to get a little shaky about donating blood. It grossed me out when staff said stuff like, “Make sure to drink a lot of water beforehand so your veins open up.” And mom had told me right when I got in, “I forgot how much it stings when they first put the needle in.”

And then to top it off, during my meeting with the nurse, she made the off-handed comment, “You may very well faint when you give because of your weight.”Man i was so scared...i hated that nurse but she was looking damm cute and that made the blood donation procedure easily...to be honest i was acting bravely in front of that nurse because i am brave boy ...haha lol..

My friends had told me the blood donation staffers are really gentle and supportive. And I was even wearing a sticker that said “First Time Donor. Handle with Care.” And yet here this lady was, freaking me out even more!

After pricking my finger to make sure I wasn’t anemic – the nurse left me alone in the room to fill out a questionnaire on the computer.

So guys i would like to tell you "YOU DONT HAVE TO BE A DOCTOR TO SAVE LIVES. JUST DONATE BLOOD"

IT IS SAFE SIMPLE AND IT SAVES LIFE

Sort:  

i was bit too scared when i donated my blood

amazing experience broo

very nice post and last messge was so inspirational

wow that was cool experince of yours

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78