Crazy For Coconut Oil!

in #life7 years ago

Coconut Oil.jpg

I love that Coconut oil is so versatile! Like the fact that it can be used for so many different things makes me genuinely excited (which is kind of sad - I know). But I have only recently learned about its many and multiple uses, and thought it would be fun to share a few of my favorites with you.

First off, what is Coconut Oil?

The dictionary describes it as: a white, semisolid fat or nearly colorless fatty oil extracted from coconuts, used chiefly in foods and in the manufacture of soaps, cosmetics, and candles.

Coconut oil can more technically be described as "one of nature’s super foods and a truly essential nutrient in any diet or beauty regime. Extra Virgin Coconut Oil is extracted from the meat of fresh matured coconuts. Coconut Oil is unique compared to other oils because it is composed predominantly of a group of fat molecules known as medium chain fatty acids (MCFA). Most other fats that humans consume are comprised of long chain fatty acids. MCFA are broken down into individual fatty acids in the stomach before being released into the intestinal tract so they put little strain on the enzyme and digestive systems of the body. MCFA are a more efficient source of fuel than glucose and do not circulate in the bloodstream as other fats do so are less likely to be incorporated into fat cells or contribute to the hardening of the arteries. Coconut oil is great for those with digestive issues or who have trouble digesting fats."

And while the health benefits are obviously debatable, I still love the fact that you can do so many things with this one product. So what do I use it for?

1. Cooking and Baking

Let's get the obvious one out of the way. Coconut oil has a high smoke point which makes it perfect for cooking or baking with high heat. I often use it in place of butter and other oils for pan frying and even within the recipes themselves.

I personally can't taste the difference myself, but I have heard that you can always use salt to counter any sweetness you may taste or even use other types of coconut oil that aren't virgin.

2. In Coffee

It is said you can use coconut oil as a replacement for creamer... And while I wouldn't go that far, I do find that if you add a little bit to your coffee, it definitely gives you an added boost of energy. All you have to do is make your coffee as normal, add the coconut oil, and blend it in some sort of blending machine. And Voilà

3. As Make Up Remover

I cannot tell you how many times I have ran out of make up remover and used coconut oil in a pinch. It works almost better than my actual make up remover! Not only does it remove my makeup super well, but it also leaves my skin feeling super soft and moisturized.

Disclaimer: The one down side to doing this is that sometimes you can get a tiny bit on your eyeballs and it creates a sort of film... it doesn't hurt but it can be annoying, so be careful!

4. Conditioning Treatment

You can use the coconut oil as a leave in conditioner either before you shower on dry hair, or after you shower on wet hair. You can even mix it into your shampoo and then condition your hair as you normally would. You can put it all the way from your scalp to your ends, or just do your ends depending on where you need the moisture.

Coconut oil can be used to simply moisturize and restore your hair, and even help get rid of dryness on the scalp!

5. Exfoliant Scrub

Sometimes I use half a cup of coconut oil and a quarter cup of sugar as an exfoliating scrub for my entire body. I used to do this all the time with olive oil and salt, but this works just as good and smells a lot better. This makes your skin super smooth and soft feeling.

The kind of coconut oil I usually use is 'Kirkland Signature Organic Coconut Oil Cold Pressed Unrefined 84 Fl oz' from Costco because I feel as though you get the most for your money, but there are tons of kinds you can use.

Get a similar one here: https://www.amazon.com/Kirkland-Signature-Organic-Coconut-Unrefined/dp/B00J4VYCSC

Sources:
https://karynraw.com/product/coconut-oil/
http://www.dictionary.com/browse/coconut-oil

Sort:  

Most undervalued post ever....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50