Dear diary...

in #life7 years ago (edited)

old-2626541_1920.jpg

Am I getting old?

Just the other day my friends were making fun of me going to bed early. As a matter of fact, as mentioned in a previous post, I do am tired much earlier than I used to be. Years ago in my early 30’s, I could easily go with 3-4 hours of sleep or less for a few nights in a row. Nowadays I just feel I NEED sleep more often and much longer than before.

Does it only have to do with age?

One can think of it is due to becoming older what is the cause of feeling more tired than before but I have another theory. Of course, age does affect the need of sleep but in my mind, there is more to be causing this. For example, there is a lot more stress than before, a family to take care of, work-related stuff, the kid has to do well in school, she also needs to train for her sport 3 times a week besides learning. Also she needs to unwind already by some form of yoga, bills have to be paid, the house needs maintenance, the car needs a checkup, the cat looks a bit under the weather, there are social obligations like birthday parties, so birthday shopping, groceries have to be bought, continuous discussing of how do we make enough money for all this, the school holidays are coming so there need to be some form of babysitting because…hey, we work full time, and this only scratches the surface…

Don’t forget all these things have to be done and take care of in 7 days a week besides a full-time job. Whether we like it or not or would like to see it someday to be a bit easier to come around. This is the NOW and not yet the Future of where we lead a stressless life with near to infinite money and time.

So, am I old?

If you like add up all the aforementioned stuff you could easily say there is just too much to think about and to take care of. And yes that does make me feel old from time to time. It doesn’t of course really make me old but it certainly does make me FEEL old.

Feeling younger/ Feeling free

So my goal in life is to manage all the things for the time being. My goal is to hopefully become more or less financially independent. If I reach that, I most certainly stop working in a heartbeat! It would make me reconsider the real values in life. So with all those stressful stuff out of the way, I think I could help others to become free as well.

In the meantime I just do what everyone around me does, fulfilling the daily struggle of a nine to five job. Just imagine you don’t need to think about income, that would definitely take some burden away from every day's stress, most certainly I can think of a few people I know would feel relieved, including myself. Just to be able to do what you like every day and fill your day with things only you like to do yourself. Wow what a luxurious life you lead!

resort-846075_1920.jpg
This would be nice to achieve!

my 4 moods

  • Im too old for this shit.
  • Im too tired for this shit.
  • Im too sober for this shit.
  • I dont have time for this shit.

So am I getting old?...Nope, I am just living life (it still isn't my dreamed of life but I know I'll slowly but surely getting there! With my family and in good health!

Thanx for reading!


Fellow Steemians, ​​have the best day! And don't forget, Life is for ​living!



Sort:  

What’s wrong with the cat?? Is she getting old and stressed too??

I'm 20 and I get tired easy from doing the day to day stuff. So don't worry. You will get old when you decide! ;)

Just take it easy and stay happy with life!

Followed and upvoted!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60768.35
ETH 2411.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60