You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Things did not quite go as planned...

in #life7 years ago

Hi @jrcornel
Ants have a queen that breeds. The normal ants you see are normally workers. You had to have a queen in between the ants you put in the cage. You need to make sure that you don't put a queen in the new cage, or she will start breeding again.
(I did not think the ants will stay alive in the fridge)
Good luck!

Sort:  

That is what I always thought as well. Are you familiar with harvester ants? They are slightly different I believe...

Regarding the fridge, they actually survive in there for over 2 weeks. They basically go into hibernation. I couldn't believe it either, but they were fine after 3 days in the fridge... it turns out I shoulda left them their a bit longer!

Thanks for the reply

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62033.06
ETH 3004.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48