Turning 28 and nowhere near where I should be?

in #life6 years ago


Hey Everyone! 

I've had  a really busy and non- routine like week. I just turned 28 (WHAT?) last week, at February 25th, and right after that started a holiday called Purim (basically the Jewish Halloween- I was a mermaid this year). So the whole week has been one big celebration- a lot of costumes, parties and alcohol (don't look at me like that- getting drunk is an actual commandment in this holiday).

My birthday has been a sore point for a few years now- something about another year passing by, where I didn't reach most of the milestones I imagined I'd achieve by that age (like starting a family, being super fit, and having plenty of money), has always put me down; and instead of being happy in my birthday, I would feel sad and stuck. 

But this year has been different, I had the best birthday ever! And nothing too exciting even happened. 

Why was it different this time?

I've learned to enjoy the process- I think this is one of the most crucial things to learn in order to be happy in life.

I am so happy doing what I'm doing right now, even though all of my goals feel far away, I've taken the control of my life for the first time ever this year- and just that simple act of taking control made me so much happier. 

I've finally learned how to enjoy the process, like everyone says you should. When you dictate the rout of your life towards goals that excite you, and not just go along with the flow (which I've done for most of my adult life), you just can't help but feel happy and excited about the process. 

And when you really realize that achieving goals won't make you happy, but the journey of changing and evolving into what you want to be will, it suddenly doesn't matter so much that you didn't achieve everything you thought you would by 28, it just means there is so much more good to come. 

Have a great day, 

Ruth


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

I'm sure you'll make all your dreams come true! Good luck and happy birthday!

Thanks ❤️

Great video. Keep making more. You are right it's all about the journey not the destination. I always say I'm a product of my past not a victim of it. We can always draw a line and decide that from here on out things will be different. Good luck!

Thanks! I like your saying- it's so easy to see ourselves as victims and allow ourselves to make excuses because of it, but letting go of feeling like a victim of your past sets you free.

This is such an important post. I have been thinking about this topic for a while lately; people should go after what they are passionate about, they should create their own flow 😌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61078.25
ETH 2671.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51